top of page

Special Father's Day Surprise

Updated: Jan 24, 2023


Dear dads, you are amazing and your children love you. You do more than you even realize and make small and simple differences every single day. As you listen to this episode, internalize the things this panel of children has to say about their own dads, because we guarantee your children would say similar things about you! Thank you for all you do to teach and support your children. They see you. They want to be like you. And they love you unconditionally. Keep up the good work dads. No other job is more important than yours.




Listen here:



Can't Listen? Read the Transcription Here:


Jen: Hello and welcome to The Parent’s Place, a podcast put out by The Family Place for parents to develop skills that will strengthen families and provide tools that will help each of us in our parenting efforts. No matter our skills, we can always use reminders that help us work towards a safer, happier home. I'm your host, Jennifer Daly, the education director at the Family Place and my co-host is Sara Hendricks, a family educator at the Family Place. Every week, we will interview professionals that will provide valuable information that will make a difference when you apply it directly to your life. Thank you for joining us. Now, let's get started with today's episode.


Sara: Welcome to The Parent’s Place podcast, I'm your host, Sara Hendricks.


Jen: I'm your co-host, Jen Daly.


Sara: Today we have a special episode that we're doing for Father's Day. I don't know if you had an opportunity to listen to our Mother's Day episode, but it was so fun that we wanted to do the same thing for dads. And so we have some children and youth with us to answer some questions about dads. And we're excited to hear their thoughts and feelings about the important role that dads play in our lives.


JenAll right, we're going to start off with our first question, and the first question is what super power does your dad have?


Child 1: He's super good at like watching the kids and making sure they're OK.


Child 2: My dad's superpower is strength, because he's always able to move things around that are heavy.


Child 3: My dad is really kind, and I think that's a superpower.


Child 4: Personally, I feel like my dad is really good at fixing things like we could come to him with anything that's broken at all, and I feel like he could fix it, and that's just kind of some special superpower that he has.


Jen: He's a MacGyver. You're too young to know what MacGyver is, but it was a good TV show back in the day.


Child 5: I think that My dad’s superpower would be like he’s taught me how to play a lot of different board games, and he plays a lot himself.


Child 6: He can be very generous. That's probably his super power is being generous, giving people the opportunity to, I don't know, being able to have a good life. And just to show people that humility is a good thing and it's OK to be generous.


Sara: OK, so what is something you feel like only a dad can do?


Child 4: Dads are always the best cheering people up. Like, whenever I'm sad, I don't usually like people to hug me, but my dad will hug me and it will make me really happy.


Child 2: My dad is the only one who can reach high things in my family.


Child 5: At my house, my dad, he goes up onto the roof and to fix things like the cooler.


Child 3: I feel like only dads plunge the toilet.


Child 6: He always has a scripture verse for everything. I've never met somebody who could do that.


Child 1: My dad, he tells me stories a lot.


Jen: What do you guys love about your dad?


Child 5: Something I love about my dad is that he takes us on all these fun trips whenever we don't expect it.


Sara: Wow, that's cool!


Child 6: I like how passionate he can be about like things like how willing he can be, or like hear other people's perspectives. He's not always like that, but when he is, it's like interesting to like how willing he is to listen to a lot of people saying not himself.

Child 3: My dad cheers me up when I'm sad. And that's what I love about him.


Child 2: Something that I love about my dad is that he is always willing to do something with me.


Child 1: I love that he just always helps me and always makes me laugh, and stuff.


Child 4: One thing that I really love about my dad is that he always has a good sense of humor and whenever like, it's too much joking and how much like he's very good at showing us that he loves us.


Sara: Why is it important to have a dad?


Child 3: Dads are important because life would be so much harder without them.


Child 4: It's important, at least for me, to have a dad because he's always there for me. Like, even if everything's in chaos, he'll always be there, and I can know that's really comforting.


Child 2: My dad's important because without him, I would be alone all the time and not being able to do very many fun things outside of my house.


Child 5: I think it's important to have a dad because it in my house, my dad is the one who usually fixes things when they break.


Child 1: If we didn’t have dads, then life would be harder than it is right now.


Child 6: They're good role models, and they give you a different thing their mom could give you or another parent could give you. It's just kind of a different bond and I don’t know it's cool to have a dad its cool to have somebody there for you.


Jen: Why are you thankful for your dad?


Child 3: I'm thankful for my dad because he always makes me laugh and like he never gives up. And that he loves me.


Child 4: I'm really thankful for my dad because a lot of who I am today came from him. Like he taught me my love for music and engineering and a lot of things, and I'm grateful for that.


Child 1: I'm thankful for my dad because he plays games with me


Child 6: And he's taught me a lot of good lessons like how to treat myself good and that you can always improve and do better.


Child 5: I am thankful for my dad because he's really fun. Like when we're playing outside in the water, he would just spray everyone with the hose.


Child 2: I'm thankful for my dad because he's there when I need him to help me learn something new.


Sara: So what is something your dad is really good at cooking? And if he's not good at cooking, what's something he is good at doing?


Child 5: Dog food.


Child 6: He is probably good at cooking stir fry. I like when he cooks stir fry, that’s about it.


Child 1: He cooks dinner every night, he's super good at cooking, but sometimes he gets it burnt, but it's still super good.


Child 2: My dad is really good at cooking desserts like pies. I don't always get to eat them because he takes them to work, but he makes a lot of them.


Child 3: My dad is really good at baking churros.


Child 4: My dad makes the best smoked macaroni and cheese. Yeah, he's pretty good at cooking that.


Jen: Smoked macaroni and cheese? Like in a smoker?


Child 4: Yeah, it has bacon bits in it. It's really good.


Child 5: My dad is in my family is the best at cooking smoked ribs.


Sara: Woah!


Jen: What a bunch of smoker dads!


Child 5: Even though I have never had them before, everyone in my family really like them.


Sara: Sounds like we need to have a barbecue!


Jen: All right. What does :your dad do that makes you laugh?


Child 3: It always makes me laugh when my dad plays video games and moves the controller around and tightens his toes when the game gets hard.


Child 5: Something my dad does that makes me laugh would be tickling me.


Child 1: He like. Does dancing and its super funny.


Sara: He is a goofy dancer?


Child 1

Yeah!


Child 4: My dad to make us laugh, he will mess around and he'll start singing and he'll get his big opera and he'll sing The Star-Spangled Banner in the most dramatic way he can.


Jen: Does he have a good voice?


Child 4: When he tries haha


Child 6: When he plays his golf game, he kicks his feet up with him and like whenever he gets competitive as the rest of his body follows whatever he's doing. That's really funny.


Child 2: Something that makes me laugh is when my dad gets embarrassed. Recently this week, we were learning a play and he was started singing the song we were learning in front of everybody. And it made me laugh because it embarrassed him.


Sara: If you could give your dad any gift in the world, what do you think would mean the most to him?


Child 5: A gift that would mean the most to my dad would be having the house clean for more than a day.


Sara: Agreed.


Child 4: My dad, he isn't really a material based like we could get him anything. He'd be happy, but it wouldn't be the best gift ever. So, I feel like the best gift to him would just be having our whole family happy and together and loving.


Child 6: Maybe a new pair of glasses, so he doesn’t look like Harry Potter.


Child 2: The gift that would mean the most to my dad is publishing his book that he's been working really hard on for years.


Child 3: If I could give my dad any gift, I would bring my puppy back to life because I know my dad misses him lot.


Child 1: Just being a good kid, I like just like giving like, well, just my love and being a good kid.


Sara: I love that! That's such a great answer.


Jen: What do you think your life would be like if dads didn't exist?


Child 5: I think life would be not fun without Dads.


Child 6: Hmm... Hard because I mean, I love my mom, but the dad is, like I said, it's different to different kind of bond and a different kind of relationship, and it'd be different for sure.


Child 3: If there were no Dads, life would be really miserable and we will never see our moms because they would always be working.


Child 4: I feel like I can always talk to my dad. So life without my dad would be pretty lonely.


Child 2: There would be no more new babies in life because dads are what helped bring babies.


Child 1: I think it'll be like a lot, a lot harder of life


Sara: Yeah, that question kind of puts us down in the dumps a little to think about what life would be like without dad. So let's switch gears and do something fun. What something goofy your dad does?


Child 6: Whatever he like when we play card games, whenever he loses, he's like,” it's OK, I got it, it's OK. OK, good move. OK.”


Child 5: Something goofy my dad does would be he has this weird laugh where he moves his lip all the way up and he's like “ha ha ha ha ha ha”


Sara: I got to see that one.


Child 3: My dad doesn't really do anything goofy.


Child 4: Something goofy my dad does is whenever we play games as a family and all, he will make up the rules like all he wants as he goes along. As long as like, it suits him.


Jen: As long as he's going to win, right?


Child 2: Something goofy my dad does is embarrass me about boys.


Child 1: He says goofy words sometimes.


Jen: All right. Last question. How does your dad show you that he loves you?


Child 4: I think my dad shows us that he loves us by teasing us like just in a nice, caring way. He'll keep a sense of humor and tease us a little bit. And I always feel like he loves me when he does that,


Child 1: He's just like, tell me stories and reads Book of Mormon to me every night, and he helped me a lot


Child 5: How my dad would show how he loves us is he's always at home to care for us.


Child 3: My dad takes care of me and helps me when I need it. That's how I know he loves me.


Child 2: My dad shows me he loves me by saying prayers with us and then giving hugs afterwards to go to bed.


Child 6: He says that he loves me a lot.


Jen: We want to thank each of our participants for coming today and sharing what they love about their dads. We hope that everyone will express their love to their dads or to the men in their lives that have made a difference for them. Sara and I wish all fathers and father figures a very happy Father's Day. If you would like to reach Sarah or myself, you can email us at Parents@thefamilyplaceutah.org or on Facebook, Sara Hendricks -The Family Place or Jen Daly -The Family Place. We hope you have a great week, and we will see you next time.


Sara: Thanks again for listening. The Family Place is a non-profit organization in Logan, Utah, with a mission to strengthen families and protect children. We call ourselves starfish throwers. If you're unsure what that means, refer back to our introduction episode where we explain it. The good news is you can be a starfish thrower too by subscribing to The Parent’s Place podcast and liking our social media pages. If this episode resonated with you, please share it with others and help us get our message out to more people. Also, be sure to check the show notes for links to information referenced in this episode. That's all for now, but we'll catch you again next time on The Parent’s Place.


Contact:

Email us: parents@thefamilyplaceutah.org

Find us on social media:


Music by Joystock

- https://www.joystock.org

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page