top of page

What is Love



With Valentines day coming up we thought it would be a good reminder to look through the eyes of a child. We asked 14 kids what the meaning of Love is and they had some amazing insights. We hope you enjoy this heartwarming episode.


Listen Here:


Rather read? Transcription Here:


Jen: Welcome to the Parents Place podcast with Hilary and Jen. 


: We have a special episode this week. We asked kids of all ages questions about love. These are their amazing responses. Have a great Valentine's Day! 


Kid #1: What is love? 


Kid #2: Being able to care for someone even when it gets hard and being kind no matter what. 


Kid #3: Being happy with someone  


Kid #4: Taking care of others 


Kid #5: Being willing to sacrifice your time and needs for someone. 


Kid #6: Putting someone's needs before yours. 


Kids #7: Disgustingness. 


Kids #8: Love is where you deeply care about one person or many people. 


Kid #9: A significant sign of something you can feel for another person. 


Kid #10: Like when people like each other. 


Kid #1: Love is Draco Malfoy, Voldemort all combined. Yeah,it's beautiful. 


Kid #11: Umm, it's when you love somebody that you really love so love.  


Kid #12: True Love! It means you love each other. 


Kid #9: What does love feel like? 


Kid #13: What does love feel like? 


Kid #3: Like warm 


Kid #2: Like happy. 


Kid #13: You could like do something whenever you want or like do something that you could like. That you could do something that is a game. 


Kid #6: Good inside 


Kid #5You usually feel more like comfortable to be there and like wanted. 


Kid #11: The whole family loves each other,  


Kid #13: Loving each other!  


Kid #1: It’s a whole mix of emotions combined and it's kind of weird. 


Kid #8: Yeah, with I feel with love is like you can feel anxious. You can feel scared. You can feel happy. Or you can even be excited. 


Kid # 10: If you have to go on a date, then you feel like excited and happy. 


Kid #14: It feels, um, good. 


Kid #8: Who are some people you love? 


Kid #9: That's personal! 


Kid #14: But I love everybody in the world. 


Kid #3: My family. My dogs, Moo Moo. Moo Moo gets a whole separate bar. Because she's my baby. 


Kid #2: All of my family friends. 


Kid #9: I love my bearded dragon. 


Kid #5: My friends and family. 


Kid #8: I guess I love my mom, my dad, my sisters and my brothers. I love my dogs. 


Kid #7: No boys, they're gross. They have cooties. 


Kid #11: My cousins, my family, baby Jesus,  


Kid #14: Daddy and I love myself. And Mom and Jango and John,  


Kid #10: My mom, my brother, my dad. Basically, everyone in my family. 


Kid #9: People that love me well, I believe in self love, loving myself. I think my parents love me, my friends. A lot of people love me but I don't know who else so. 


Kid #3: My family, my dogs. Moo Moo. 


Interviewer: Anybody else? 


Kid #3: Not that I know of. 


Kid #5: My parents and my siblings and my extended family, and everyone that loves me. 


Kid #4: And my friends  


Kid #13: Ben and Taylor. Yeah, but. Ben and Taylor are our neighbors,  


Kid #11: So they love us. We are best friends. 


Kid #13: All my friends love me that are that is my friends. 


Kid #2: Mom and Dad and. My all my siblings and cousins and uncles and aunts. 


Kid #6: All of that family. 


Kid #8: My friends, my mom and dad love me. So does my sister and my teachers love me. 


Kid #10: My mom, my brother. My sisters. My dogs. And my grandparents and my cousins. 


Kid #14: Cousin and dad. John, mom, Jango. Then that's it.\ 


Kid #12: Zaiah, Mom, Teddy 


Kid #9How do you show someone you love them? 


Kid #6: How do you show someone you love them? 


Kid #8 You show someone you love them by comforting them when they feel sad or scared. And by going up and give them a hug, you know, and you're like, hey, what's up, want a hug. 


Kid #12: Show love? Maybe play! 


Kid #3: Get them gifts 


Kid #4: You help people do stuff 


Kid #11: Helping them,  


Kid #13: Helping them. I love to help Mom making some food so that how you love with Mommy and daddies. 


Kid #5: You can just be there for them and sometimes give them gifts to show that you care for them and are thinking about them. 


Kid #11: Giving them cards, giving them hugs.  


Kid #13: Give them hugs, kissing them, kissing them. 


Kid #2: You're there for them and you sometimes like you, show you, show empathy. 


Kid #13: Uh hug them and kiss them! 


Kid #11: Going to the house. 


Kid #10: Care for people, play with them. 


Kid #6: Like if they are hurt you can help them 


Kid # 11: Playing with them,  


Kid #13: playing with them, 


Kid #11: playing with my little brother  


Kid #13: I play with my little brother too and everyone could kiss on each others lips when they when they could get a love 


Kid #7: I just want to cry on their shoulder  


Kid #9: A lot of the times they'll hug people to show them I love them, but in other times I'll give on Valentine. Well, it's not like a Valentine's, but I’ll write, my friends. Nice cards to just say, hey, how you doing? Still care about you. You still care about me? I have a lot of pen pals I write too. 


Kid #11: Help them feel happy,  


Kid #13: Help them feel happy. 


Kid #10: Caring for them, being nice, respecting them. 


Kid #11: Say I love you! 


Kid #14: Like playing monster trucks. Like do everything is good but not bad. 


Kid #7: Only care about them. 


Kid #6: Only you say like love you and this they do it and give someone a hug or kiss.  


Kid #14:  We like play together. Play the switch. 


Kid #9: Valentine's Day means to me is. If you're dating someone, you can get them chocolates or flowers, and it's a sign of day. The a day sign of love. OK, it's a day about love and it's signs where people can give love and sometimes even people ask each other out. 


Kid #3: Chocolate, probably like Hersey's. My dad normally gets us like a little something on Valentine's Day. Most of the time, it’s Chocolate. Yeah. Like one of those tiny little heart boxes. 


Kid #5: Our parents get us a little something, so it just a day to show people that you're thinking about them and love them. 


Kid #6: Show people you love them 


Kid #8: Valentine's Day means to me that like you can it's a day of being nice to everyone and showing love and how you feel about them. It's a day where you're nice to everyone. 


Kid #14: It's like hearts and you love someone. And you put hearts on each others doors. 


Kid #12: Loves means walk to GiGi’s house on Valentines Day. 


Kid #8: I think one thing that the world needs to learn about love is to like be kind to one another and respect. Because nowadays in the world there's this constant war and tempers flaring and horrible stuff is going on. So you just want you just wish everyone could be nice to each other. So I feel like the world needs to know. It's possible to be kind to other people and to not have all of this. Just horrible stuff going on, you know. So, like Martin Luther King, for example, you know he was a great symbol of peace and love, and he believed that all people are equal. So, I think he was a really great example and we should follow him. 


Kid #3: People should get more chocolate and gifts to show appreciation. 


Kid#12: Mario Odyssey, and we can play all day 


Kid #2: That we're all humans and that we're all trying to do better and that we can all love one another. 


Kid #14: We care for each other. 


Kid #7: You should love axolotls because they're going extinct and they you need your love axolotls because like they're an animal and you need to love animals because like, if you don't love animals, I can't be your friend. 


Kid #10: That animals are like, really amazing and like that and for like showing them you care about them would be like if you had more pets like if you had a horse which is my favorite animal. So you would have to feed them and take care of them and be nice to them and play with them. 


Kid #6: We should all love each other because we all live here together. 


Kid #5: You are in love. 


Kid #11: I love you. 


Kid #13: I love you 


Jen: Thank you for listening to the Parents Place podcast. If you would like to reach us, you can at parents@thefamilyplaceutah.org or you can reach Jen on Facebook. Jen Daly - The Family Place. Please check out our show notes for any additional information. Our website is TheFamilyPlaceUtah.org if you're interested in any of our upcoming virtual classes, we'd love to see you there. 

 

Contact us:

-Email us questions or topic ideas: parents@thefamilyplaceutah.org

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page