top of page

Care About Child Care





Anyone with kids can tell you what a hard topic child care is. With the need and want for affordable childcare while balancing having quality educators there taking care of your children, Child care can seem like a very tough topic. We are lucky enough to have Zinthia, from Care About Childcare, to better help explain the confusion and tough aspects on child care. With her passion to educate other on this topic, this is not an episode you want to miss! You will learn a lot!






Listen Here:



Rather Read than Listen? Read the Transcription Here:


Jen: Welcome to the Parents Place podcast with Hilary and Jen. 


Hilary: Welcome to the Parents Place podcast today. I am excited to be here with you and I'm excited to be here with a special guest today. So let me preface by saying my co-host Jen is unavailable to be with us today. So, you get me. I'm flying solo when it comes to the interviewer, but I am not alone because we have Zinthia with us today and I'm so excited to hear from her today and to hear her share her knowledge and expertise in an area that I think many of you are involved in and stress about and are trying to find information on, so I'm gonna start by turning the time over to Zinthia, and if you'll just share. A little bit about. Who you are and what you do. 


Zinthia: Perfect. Well, hi, Hilary. Thank you so much for giving me the opportunity to be hearing this podcast. I'm very excited and like I said, so like you said, my name is Zinthia Conejo. And I work here at Care About Childcare at USU. I have been at this position for a little over 2 years and before that I have worked at Childcare program center and a classroom. And I have always really loved children. I feel like they are just so special. So lets talk a little bit about let's see. I have lived here in the valley for about 29 years. And I have come to have the opportunities different opportunities to be around children and learn about children. And so I sort of very long time ago I was just an at home Mom and I heard about Care about Childcare. And so I decided to start taking classes from them because I wanted to get something that's called a CDA, Child development associate credential and it's nationally recognized. And so I started going to classes with them and they were such a great support. And back then, I wasn't. I got that not, because I need. I was going to work. I just kind of wanted to learn more about being a better mom and hopefully, you know, be able to understand their development and be better. You know, just kind of learn, learn. So my oldest son, he was he had some struggling, a little bit with speech. And so at the time I was a new mom and I didn't know what to do. So that's why I reached out. And I found those resources. We care about childcare anyway. Down the line I was at home for many years for about 11 years. And when I went back into the workforce, I decided on my I this is what I want to do. I have a passion for children and for children's advocacy. And because I feel they are just so important, children are just amazing and what we can do as adults is the influence that we have is so big that we don't even know. Like we don't realize how much of an influence we have in the children and how we're affecting them, not only in early childhood, but for the rest of their lives. And so I started getting all these feelings, so I decided to go to school and learn some more. And then I when I was ready to go back to work, I decided to go and work at a Head Start. Which I loved. I was a teacher assistant there. Then I was also as a receptionist of the one of the centers. And so I was there a little more over 2 years and then the opportunity came to work at Care About Childcare. And when I saw the job, I was just really excited because I knew who they were and I knew how much they helped me. And I kind of wanted to be part of that. So Care About Childcare has different resources, so I'm going to talk a little bit about what we do, if that's, that's OK. So Care About Childcare has many resources. One of them is we help parents find child healthcare and how we do that, it's a referral system that we have and parents can feel more confident. Hopefully you know in reaching out to us and saying, hey, I'm looking for childcare, where do I start looking? Like sometimes it's just that moment where is. Like, how do I do this? Where do I go? Who do I ask? Or we have families moving into our valley and then they just really don't know where to start and they want to start. They, you know, they have a job, they go care for a job and. They don't know where to start, so in our website we have. And have a form where you can fill out and you can actually find childcare, a list of licensed childcare providers.

Now let's talk a little bit about what that means. So what that is, licensed childcare providers have been given a license to care for children in their program. It could either be a home program or a center program. And so they can find a list of people that is doing that in their local area and why is that important? Why is that such a great resource for parents? Because you, I mean, I don't know. But as a Mom, I wanted to make sure that my kids were in a safe place always. And I had the opportunity to stay at home. And for many years, and also I also care for children. And so I really feel that that was very important. You are leaving the most important person with someone else at their care. And so you want to make sure that. The environment that they're going to be in. Through the whole day it's going to be, you know, safe for our children, and I feel like that that would be the feeling for most parents, hopefully and so. That's why that is so important. And providers that get licensed, they have to go through a process and they have to do different things. They have to have CPR, they have to have a food handlers permit, and they are, the state checks on. Them every so and there's a food program that most providers follow and do, and the program helps them feed the children with nutritious meals. And so all that, it's a lot of little things. And providers work hard to be able to be licensed and provide that environment that is safe and nurturing for their children. And so that's why that is so important and that's why we feel that resource, this resource for parents is just amazing along with that. So what we do so if someone is looking for childcare though going to the website, they can do their own search and then they'll get a list. Or they can even call us. They can call us and say, hey, I'm looking for childcare. This is where I live. And then we have our referral counselor who will look through the data system and find you a list of providers that have their license to and then also you are welcome to come in. They can come in, people, parents come into our office, meet with someone, be like I'm looking for childcare. What can you tell me? Where do I start? And this is what I'm looking for. And so there's also another different thing to know is that providers there are different. They're still quite high quality program and so some providers work really hard to be in that quality program. And what I've noticed and what I've seen, is that most parents don't know about that program. And so if they don't understand that, they don't know what they're looking for. And so another big job that we have is hopefully educate parents on what they need to look for what you know when they're looking for childcare. And even if they want to go with someone without a license, that's fine. But what kind of things are so crucial that you ask so that you can feel good and your children can. We say, you know, a lot of the, a lot of the I guess, providers who people that provide care without license. You know they don't have to go through the processing of getting a background check or any of the other like inspections, fire inspections, kitchen inspections, things like that, but. And I'm not saying by any means that that's not going to be a safe place or that's not a good thing to do you know. But as a parent do want to make sure that they are, you know you want to ask for those questions, do you have a background check nowadays? It's like you don't really know people and you know background checks kind of can help you figure out something. Something had happened before or something, you know, that can make you feel uneasy. About leaving your child there, and so there are lots of things that parents should be looking for when they're looking for childcare. And so we have some of those resources on our website as well and about what to look for when they're looking for child.  

What else? So. Oh, OK. So the other part of my job. So I am my position here. I care about childcare is I am the outreach and CDA coordinator. So I do every events, a lot of people maybe have seen me or will see me at some events. I'm there with my booth and information for everybody. And then the other part is the CDA, which is I actually now help people get their CDA, we guide them, we have materials, develop them available for them. Whoever wants to study, we have scholarships. If they work in a childcare program, then they're able to the CDA so they can get a scholarship for it. So, we do a lot of interactive training. That's another thing that a lot of people don't know that we as providers we support them and not only and just say no here's one class, but we have many classes that help them make their job or career. Because childcare is that important and. So that's one of the things that we do, we want to make sure that we're giving that support to all the providers that are in our valley and our area. The other thing, the other big thing that we do is that we help people become licensed. So if someone you know as a mom, you're like, I don't know, I need a job and they're like, well, maybe I could do that and then we can help them through the process. We also have grants available for that. That can help people become licensed and we are more than happy to walk them through the steps and how to do that and go where they need to go and connect them with the people that they need to be connected with so that the process is easier for them. So that's a little bit about care about healthcare. I don't know, do you have another question? 


Hilary: Ohh my goodness there is. I have to tell you, I mean, I felt like I had a pretty good idea as to what you guys do at Care About Childcare, but there's more. Like, I had no idea the extent of, like, the CDA programs too. That's really cool to be able to continue to provide. 


Zinthia: Yeah. 


Hilary: To provide that information and that education and to be able to offer it on a scholarship basis as well too. So, I love that have to tell you. So, I have, I have worked my entire adult life and after I have kids, I still continue to work and I think you ask any working well, I was going to say any working mom, but any working parent essentially, and the hardest thing for me about being a working mom is finding childcare. And I don't think many people understand the stress and the burden that is. Because we want to work or maybe we even have to work for financial reasons. But like you said, we want to make sure our kids are safe and that they are in our environment that we feel comfortable with. And so, I love that you guys can assist parents through that process so that they have those resources. And then they can work if they need to, but do so confidently. That their kids are OK. So important. So, I'm curious, you mentioned you're up at Utah State, but is this a nationwide program? If people were outside of Utah, would they be able to find a similar resource. 


Zinthia: OK, perfect. Excellent question. So, and it is kind of confusing. I'm glad you asked because I think that it's important that people understand this too. So, Care about Childcare, it's a nonprofit agency, but we work. So, we are housed at Utah State University. So we are part of USU. But we are also funded, we are funded by the Office of Child Care through the state level. So, what that means there's another six offices that are just like us through the whole state. And so, our service area would be Cache county, Box Elder and Rich and then if you go South from here, then you go to Weber, they also house another program just like ours. Care about childcare and so in Salt Lake area. There's also that program is house and it's with Children Association service center. So, they're also in there. So, and if you keep going South, we have those services all through the state which is amazing. And all the. Yeah. And so we work close also with workforce services as well. So that's where kind of where our funding comes from and that's where we get all the scholarships and things their state level and so yeah, that's where all this we you can have it care about childcare all through the state, all throughout the state, which is really amazing. 


Hilary: Look perfect. So, if someone isn't in Cache Valley, they can probably Google Care About Childcare and it will direct them to the location closest to them. OK, perfect. So, I'm thinking one of the biggest hurdles with childcare is the cost, so are there resources and ways to assist with that? 


Zinthia: OK. Yeah, that is a big one and it's kind of hard. Childcare, so, there are two parts to this, OK, the part of where a parents needs like childcare needs to be affordable for parents and the other part is we need to make sure that our caregivers are getting enough. So, this is where a little bit of, it's a little bit conflicting. Because providers. So, this is how we understand it and we see our providers, people that care for children, are actually educators. And a lot of people don't understand that 90% of the brain development happens ages 0 to 5. So, then you think about this, right? OK, so this is the most important time of a child's life. Speaking in development, brain development and brain connections. You know they're just they're just going at it. They're just learning. So much that this five years, which is so critical. So, if I ask you and say how much do you think that's worth, you know, like the education of your child from zero to 5? I mean what? Right. What would you pay? That's how it should be, right?


Hilary: Yeah 


Zinthia: But then we go and we think of it as a parent. Like I need to work and I need to. I need childcare to be affordable, right? How do you do that? So it's hard. It's the one resource that I know there is childcare subsidy. And I mean, I don't know. Some people qualify, you know, I know they're often working with the rates to make sure you know they're. it's kind of hard. What can I say? I mean I in my job, I see a lot of it on this. I don't like all the benefits you get and how important it is, you know, being a childcare provider. And what you need, but then also as a parent. So who's going to answer that? Like, let's talk about who can help us with that and it's not the parents. I feel that it needs to be a full back more on the government part of it, right? Like why? What are they doing to support childcare? And it's kind of sad to know that childcare still not seen as what it is. Yeah. You know, like people think. Oh, yeah. When the kids go through school, schools are so important. But what we don't, we still at this date don't realize that zero to five is also very important time of a child's life. I mean, you can actually. What you can how you can affect a child at that age. It can go, it can be a good thing for the future or a bad thing. OK. And that so why are we doing that? Why is aren't there more opportunities and more of other things about it you know like how come the government does not have more, why isn't there more money? Yeah, to either help out parents or help out providers. Right. 


Hilary: Ohh I I can feel. I can feel the passion that you're about that topic cause I can tell this is something that you deal with on a regular basis, but right honestly I love how you have reminded us like this, this mindset that I mean it is expensive, right? And we know that. But thinking about what is this expense for? This is for our safety and the education of our kids, and I love that you asked that question. Like, what would you pay for that? I think any parent would say, well, that's priceless. Like for my child to be safe and to learn and to grow and to develop and to build the skills that they're going to need for the rest of their life. And so when you put it that way. It's like OK. Yes, I am willing to pay what I need to pay to make sure my child is placed in the in the right place 


Zinthia: But it is not affordable for parents.  


Hilary: Right, yeah 


Zinthia: It's I mean, that's where the problem lies. I feel like, like I said, there's still that, that mindset, that childcare, it's like babysitting and it's not. It's their educators and. I don't know. It's just it's really. It's really hard for me. We just recently heard from the legislative. There was one bill that they were going to pass. I don't know if you heard. About this but. There it was, a tax. It's the tax child child care credit. 


Hilary: Oh yes. 


Zinthia: Except with that. What people don't know is they're also. They also want to include that. People with no licenses like not having a childcare license they can care for children up to eight children. So. And a license provider can care for eight children. I mean, that's just what licensing requires. And then why are we doing that? Do we want more people just taking in kids they can take in into their home, like 8 kids and then parents don't know what goes into it. Like, are you asked, you know, do they have background checks? What if your child chokes? Do they know how to react to that, you know? And so. I don't know what's going on. I don't understand. It's very hard. And yes, I am very passionate about I, you know, like children are, they are our future, they are what society is going to be like. And if we're not taking care of them early enough and give them the tools. To you know, get by the time they go into school, they should have all the tools they need. Yeah, to successfully pass the kindergarten testing to successfully know how to develop in a in a social environment like how to you know how to interact with other children, how to solve problems, because that's what we're seeing a lot of children are having trouble with, so they have social issues and social anxiety and. Because they haven't had the opportunity to work through that when it was supposed to happen, which is zero to five. It's a you're not learning those skills in school. Those skills are learned earlier in life, and that's what I don't know that. We understand that as a whole society community, we don't value it. Unfortunately, but that's the fight, right? 


Hilary: Hmm. You know what? I am so glad we have somebody like you on the team though, because you have the drive and the passion to make this happen. So you are perfectly placed in the position that you are Zinthia. And I love that. So let me ask you this. So, let's say that I'm a mom that is looking for childcare. I've gone to your UM, I've gone to your site and I filled out the form which has given me a list of potential childcare places. So, at that point, what steps would you suggest be to take? Should I stop by and do visits? Should I interview these potential childcare providers and what types of things should I be looking for when I go to their childcare that would be good indicators that this is a great place for my kid to be. 


Zinthia: Perfect, excellent question. I actually have a full flyer on it that I will get to you and I'm trying to really focus on this this year and that is educating our parents on those things that you just mentioned. So the first thing is after you get the list, you're gonna wanna go through it, read through the names, read, look for that quality, look for that high quality, if that's what you're looking for. The thing is, childcare is also very personal. And every some moms would rather have their child in a center environemnt, you know. Others are you know others prefer more like a home that it's more like a family, like a bigger family. Others prefer that in their program. They  do preschool program and curriculums, you know. And so it's very personal but some of the things that are really important to look for. Is understand why quality is important. And like I mentioned, you know the brain it develops at that age. So look for their quality look, find out what it means when someone has high quality, a high quality program, ask call us, read about it, it's, you know, it's going to the information's going to be there. Second, you will wanna ask ,you wanna ask questions like where will my child be sleeping? What spaces are available for the time that he's going to be there? Is it just one room? Is it a few rooms? Do they get to go outside? You know, so many things like that. Another thing you can ask is, is the hand washing practice? Like  is it happening? Is it happening only in children? Is it? Happening by the. Adults that are doing the care, what kind of toys they have and what materials and what amount of those two are important. You know, if you only have like just one puzzle. Think about how that's going to affect your child. There's other children that want to play with the same puzzle than what's going to happen, right? And they seem like simple things. But if you think about it a little bit more outside the box, then you're gonna be, oh, yeah. Those are things that I can be looking for. And then what. And this is a very important. One what strategies for positive behavior and guidance are implemented in the program. And you can only see so like you were saying, things, I mean interviews. It is the best way to do that. If you really want to go, you want to be there. You want to see the place. You want to look around. You want to interact with the provider and you want to see how that provider is interacting with it with other children as well. So look for safety. Look for you know, all these things that I mentioned are very important. There's so many other questions too. And these aren't just questions that you can ask. You can look, you know, you can look and observe. In the program, do I see that? Do I see this? And then you can also ask you know it's there's nothing wrong with asking providers what is your washing, your hand washing procedure for your program. You know, what do you, what do you feed them? Are you in a food program? What do you have a menu you can look at the menu. Ask for the menu, see what kind of food there are being provided with the other, so the next thing would be to make sure that when you're there and you're doing an interview, you're looking. And do you want to do you want to make sure that there is a good interaction between the caregiver and the child. You know, like a good. How are they communicating? OK. Are there books around? Do you know if they read? Did she mention? Ask her. Do you have like a time where you read? Are those are books accessible? Where is the collection? You know, what kind of collections do you have? How many books? Send. All that, all things like that, right? And do you read like is, is there a time specific for reading. And also very importantly is how that welcoming feel is because when you bring a child especially like the first day it's going to be a little bit hard. So you want to make sure that when someone asks if you go in there for an interview, you can feel that warmth. You can feel that. Make sure that your child is feeling welcome to that place. Yeah, just warm, you know, just welcoming. I think that kind of sums it up. Count. Make sure you count how many children are in the program, because what if you see that there's one adult and they have like 4 babies. You told me. How is that? I mean, you think, OK, it's not doable. That's why there are rules. That's why they're, you know, inspections and things because ratios are very important and so. Watch how many kids are in the program, how many people is there. And then also pay attention to what kind of attention your child will get. And that also depends on the amount of children that. However, I'm not saying less children, it's better or more a lot of people kind of have that, but it's. That's not how it is. Is the ratios are fine and usually children work really well with other kids, so this their social development it's going to be fine if they're, you know, other kids. So you know, that's another thing you can look for and then. Make sure if they are smaller class or older class like if they have like a preschool program you know if you see some school age what are they doing? Do they have their own space? And then ask questions like I just said before. Make sure you ask from the provider what kind of training do you have. See, this is where it comes. If you are going to someone that does not have license, ask this question. Do you have training? Do you have CPR? How long have you been doing this? You know like this. How long have you been doing childcare? Like what's your experience? And. Yeah. And it's just good to know what level of experience they have it. There's nothing wrong in asking about that. And with that, I'm not saying or the more experience, the better. That's not true either. You just want to know. At the end of the day, you just need to know what who they are, what they're doing, and how their children are being cared for. And so that's those are a few steps. You asked something else about. When you're. Oh, shoot. You said something, but I can't remember right now. I'm sorry. 


Hilary: That's OK, I was like what did I say? 


Zinthia: I hope that this this kind of sums it up a little bit. 


Hilary: No, that's. That is a great resource for parents cause I think so often we probably look at that list and we probably focus in on location. Are they close to me and the cost of it, and I think it's important for parents to recognize that those are just two factors and there are other other factors. 


Zinthia: Yes. And do those factors have to do with how your child will be and feel all day long? That's what you need to ask yourself, so we need to change our mindset. A little bit on what's important, what you're looking for, whether you're looking for someone with license or not, these questions should be the same for everyone you know, so. 


Hilary: Yeah. No, I love that. Have you guys noticed a change in in childcare when it comes to like the demand or more people looking for childcare with COVID? Did that change anything and people going like I'm working from home? Did you see less people needing childcare? 


Zinthia: With COVID, what happened was. A lot of providers were lost. Because, you know, parents were keeping their kids at home. And so, you know, a lot of providers just had to close. So right after COVID like a couple years after, you know when things started to stabilize a little bit more. I actually that's when I started working and we got a lot of new providers. So we had really good grants because money from COVID was able to be used for these grants, so we had more grants, so we have grants, but we had extra ones right after that. And so we were able to you know we're always recruiting and the number kind of stays even. I was just commenting this with my director just yesterday and the numbers is just kind of interesting how it's kind of at the same. Some of some of them leave and some of them are new ones. We get new providers. And so it's kind of keeping a balance right now. However, childcare is always needed and as time you know, we see a more and more like and you know, I get that questions from the providers that come into the office and meet with me. They're like, oh, I want to, I want to start a program, but it's so when you is it really needed? You know it's something it's always needed. Like, that's not something that's going to change because people have to work and you know we understand how in the workforce there's more and more women. And so, you know, this is something that's happening. It's not going away. And I don't think it's going to change anytime soon. But as far as services and providers leaving and not, you know, there's a really good balance right now. 


Hilary: OK. 


Zinthia: But I will always need more. 


Hilary: Yeah, I mean and and like you said with women, right, a lot of women entering the workforce, I think if anything, the demand for childcare is just going to get higher because you look at. That historically before it was usually just one parent that was working and now I think for the most part both people are working in order to make ends meet. So I think you're right. Childcare is not going away anytime soon. 


Zinthia: And with that I would like to say quality childcare. Should be, this is what we're working for quality childcare. Yes, so. 


Hilary: So let me ask this kind of on a different path. You mentioned maybe. Maybe I decide that is what I would love to do. I would love to be a licensed childcare provider. So what are the first steps that I should take if I decide that I want to start doing that myself? 


Zinthia: OK, great question. So I also love that because that's what I do. I meet with people and let them know about what they need to do to get that, their program started. So I feel the requirements are CPR. You're going to need a fire inspection, a kitchen inspection. You're going to need your food handlers permit. You're going to need see a lot of. This is a little bit tricky. You need a business license, but with that, I also want to make sure that people know that every city has their different ways about getting a business license and here at the value, you would think that we all have like the same process, no. So every city has their own requirements for business license. So, you need a business license and then with all that documentation. You are going to submit an application to the childcare Licensing Office and then along and then as soon as you apply then you have to do your background check. And so, with licensing, you need it so everyone in the household needs a background check. So, every person and adolescent even because everyone older than 12 needs a background check in the household. Where childcare is going to be provided and then anyone over 18 in the household, they need their fingerprints. So, you know, and if that in fact we do fingerprints in our office. So, we have that service and we provide that service for free for all the providers that want to become licensed and our current providers that you know they hire new people, they have to get fingerprints and the background check. So that's a very important step. And then after that you. When you submit your application then the childcare Licensing Office, they will process that they will assign you a licensure. And that's the person that's going to be working with you in. You know what you need or what you're missing. And that's the person you're going to be submitting documents to if needed. And then they are the ones that you you're going to be working with. So mostly our job is to guide you through that process. Even though there's a list and it's not very gone. Sometimes it's hard because you don't know where. To go, you don't. Know like if I ask you, do you know how to get a kitchen inspection. Do you know where to go? No idea. So we try to provide all that information so that people that is interested in getting license are able to find those resources and to make sure that we have connections with them as well, so if needed I can contact what I've in. What I've experienced is that I have worked a lot with refugees in Spanish speak. And so a lot of the times with them, it's the process is a little bit different and sometimes they need a little more help, a little more guidance and they're great. I love it like I'm so thankful for the opportunity to have had to work with all of them. It's just really fun and you develop like this connection after, you know, kind of helping them. It's kind of fun. To see them and then I see them somewhere else. And they're like, oh, you know, you develop this relationships and it's just. Awesome. And so like I was saying with them, it's a little bit different. We have to, you know, help them a little more, but that's what we're here for, you know, to go to the extra mile you know. And just. Be like you know, I have this person and connect them to the person that they need to talk to and hopefully make the process easier and not too overwhelming. 


Hilary: Awesome. Well, I mean, where everything these days is done online with virtually, it's nice to have an actual person that you can go to. To say hey I. Can spend the next hour Googling places to get CPR certified, but guess what? I can also call you who I know and you can give me those resources that I need. 


Zinthia: Exactly. Mm-hmm. That's what we do 


Hilary: Well ohh my goodness, I feel like I have learned so much. I am so excited about the education that I've been given today. So Zinthia as we kind of close up our time for today, are there any other major takeaways that you would want parents to know? 


Zinthia: The most important is what I personally feel that it's more for parents to know, and in general our community to know my goal, I mean in my job, this is what I come to work for is I want to make sure people are educated on resources. I want to make sure that parents know that they're not alone in this hard journey of trying to find such an important thing for a mom. I know it. I know how it feels, and so. I am hoping that we can provide that that, that's it's education, it's knowing what resources we have in our community. And that is I have been involved in a lot of programs in the community, a lot of. I've been involved in like boards and coalitions and just trying to work on bridging this gap that there is. It’s so big and it makes me sad when I talk to someone in person. And I say, well, have you heard about this? And they're like, no, I had no idea. And they've been living here forever, and it's not even a language barrier sometimes. Sometimes it is, but sometimes it isn't. And they still don't know what resources are out there for parents, for children. And so I you know that that's my kind of my goal in in, in my own personal professional career is hopefully we can all help bridge that gap between resources and the people because that's what's important. You need them. I can know you. I mean, now you've learned all of this. But you know I don't need childcare now. But I need to make sure that someone else knows it. That does need childcare if that makes sense. I think that would be my most important goal is that I hope that at some point we can reach that gap because I know it is there and it's big. So and that people feel comfortable in talking about these things and hopefully educate themselves. On why is important childcare is such a big, it's just it's big. That's all I can say. It's so important. 


Hilary: Well, well, I agree 100% with you. And like I said, it's interesting that we work in the same realm in the same realm of a helping profession. Yet I still didn't know everything that you do at your site and I don't think that our community realize how lucky we are to live in Cache Valley because we have a number of resources in the Valley for the individuals. But and I think. The unfortunate thing is sometimes there's a stigma associated with reaching out to these resources, but I wish parents would see it as a well, why not use it? We have this incredible resource. We have these expertise that can walk me through this process of setting up childcare for my child. Why not use it right? So, I love. Well, thank you. Thank you for educating us on. On how and what and where to go when it comes to childcare for our children, because like you said, this is a as a parent, it can be it. It is a huge decision that we have to make for our kids and it can be a huge stress and often feels like a huge burden to find the right place. And so I'm so glad that you guys are there to help us to. Ease some of that burden to help us to find the best place for our child. So thank you. Thank you. Thank you. 


Zinthia: You're welcome. Thank you so much for letting us share about this. I just any opportunity like this I really value because anything that we can do to get the information out to parents, to families, to be people, I mean to an aunt. I mean, you know, you may not have a child, but you have, you know, someone most likely, you know, someone that does. And so, you know, yeah, if you can do that, that's to me, that's great. So I really appreciate the opportunity to actually share about all this. 


Hilary: Well, it's the idea of the village that we often talk about, right? But I may not need this resource at this stage in my life, but. I know people that do, and so to be educated and informed so that I can help provide that for somebody else. We create that village that we all need so. Well, thank you again  


Zinthia: You're welcome. 


Hilary: And thank you to our listeners out there who are always here. We appreciate you guys listening to our episodes. And if you have any questions about anything that Cynthia has discussed, you're welcome to reach out to our podcast. We'll include those resources that she has suggested in our show notes as well too, so that you have that. But thank you again and have a good day and be kind to one another. 


Jen: Thank you for listening to the Parents Place Podcast if you would like to reach us you can at parents@thefamily placeutah.org or you can reach Jen on Facebook. Jen Daly – the Family Place. Please check out our show notes for any additional information. Our website is thefamilyplaceutah.org. If you're interested in any of our upcoming virtual classes, we'd love to see you there. 


Subject Resources:

1. Care About Childcare Website: https://www.usu.edu/careaboutchildcare/⁠

2. Care About Childcare Parent Resources: https://www.usu.edu/careaboutchildcare/for-parents⁠


Contact us:

-Email us questions or topic ideas: parents@thefamilyplaceutah.org


 

Comments


bottom of page