top of page

Drug Prevention with Deputy Carley

Updated: Feb 24, 2023


Deputy Carley joins us this week to talk about drug prevention. He is a school resource officer and sees first-hand how drugs affect teens and their families. He gives us great tips on what signs to watch for and what trends to focus on to prevent our teens from experimenting with drugs.



Listen here:


Can't Listen? Read the Transcription Here:


Jen: Hello and welcome to the Parents Place, a podcast put out by the Family Place for parents to develop skills that will strengthen families and provide tools that will help each of us in our parenting efforts. No matter our skills, we can always use reminders that help us work towards a safer, happier home. I'm your host. Jennifer Daly, the education director at the Family Place and my co-host is Sara Hendricks, a family educator at the Family Place. Every week, we will interview professionals that will provide valuable information that will make a difference when you apply it directly to your life. Thank you for joining us! Now, let's get started with today's episode.


Hi and welcome to the Parents Place podcast, I'm Jen Daly, your host.


Sara: And I’m Sara Hendricks your co-host.


Jen: Today we are going to be talking about drugs and our kids, and I think this is a super important topic that we don’t necessarily want to address. We don’t want to believe that our kids may be dealing with these things, but it’s one that I definitely think we need to educate ourselves on. So, we have a great guest speaker with us today, and he is going to help us understand a little bit better. And I’ll turn the time over to him for him to introduce himself.


Deputy Carley: Hi, it’s good to be here! I’m Deputy Carley with the Cache County Sheriff’s Office local law enforcement agency here. And what I do is I’m assigned to one of the local high schools as a school resource officer, so I do see a lot of stuff in the schools as far as what’s been going on with, you know, related to the topic. I have been with the Sheriff’s Office for just about 18 years, done a lot of different things throughout that career investigations. I do a firearms instructor as well as sort of I bomb tech, so I have a lot of different areas that I do at the sheriff’s office. But like you said, currently, you know, as a road look high school where I get to interact with kids a lot, kids and their parents, a lot of interaction. I also do a lot of time in the community. I volunteer a lot for kid’s sports. I also interact a lot with kids and their parents that way as well. So, it’s been pretty good. I’ve been pretty fortunate. So that’s kind of me in a nutshell.


Sara: Well, awesome. We’re very excited to have you here and to carry this conversation with you. It sounds like you have a lot of experience with kids and working in the high school, I’m sure brings a lot of experience when it comes to drug use and teenagers and even how it affects families whose kids are using drugs. And so, it’ll be a good conversation to carry with you that hopefully can help educate our listeners and provide talking points for parents to know how they can carry these conversations with their kids. So, with that, maybe let’s start this conversation with just an understanding of kids and drugs, like is this a problem that kids are using drugs in the schools and how are they getting their hands-on drugs?


Deputy Carley: So, yeah, and not just in schools with kids in general, especially, you know, it seems to start around the middle school age, you know, so you get to that 12, 13-year-old age and they just get involved from a bunch of different places. Some of it comes from public places that they hang out. Some older people kind of hang out in the same places, get kids introduced to drugs that way. So that’s one area that parents can probably keep an eye on where their kids are going, what they’re doing. Concerts can also be another place where they at least make contact with people that they can get drugs from. Unfortunately, it is a big problem. Not just in schools, but in the youth in general, with drugs primarily here, but obviously across the United States and I’m sure worldwide as well. But yeah, kids, kids can get it from anywhere. There’s a lot of different things that kind of get them on to it. You know, entertainment is huge things that they’re listening to and watching. One thing I always like to tell parents is pay attention to what your kids are listening to because they pretty much pattern their life after their music. They really do, and I’ve seen it a lot. I’ve had parents send their kids to certain concerts, and they just have no idea that the people they’re going to listen to are just heavy into drugs. Some of the some of the stuff they do outside of their record label or concerts, it’s heavy into drugs and in their songs talk heavily about drugs, not just drugs, but also violence, which is a huge, huge problem. But yeah, music, they sing a lot about these drugs and it just kind of entices kids to try it. You know, they think it’s one kind of a fun thing to do, too. It’s a coping mechanism for maybe what they have going on in their life. I’ve had a lot of kids tell me that it just helps them calm down, which they may think it does. But it actually has a lot of negative effects on kids. And there’s a lot of different studies out there, but it’s probably over half of high school students that have these and f’s, are abusing some type of drug, which obviously is a huge problem. And it contributes not just to school work and their success in school, but also home life. So, there’s a lot of different ways for kids to get involved in that. And then obviously getting stuff at schools is one of my primary concerns. And it’s something. Does happen more than I would like it to, but primarily the drugs that we see are vapes or electronic cigarettes and marijuana. Prescription pills obviously is and is also one as well, but not as prevalent.


Sara: Well, I had no idea.


Deputy Carley: And you know what. That is super common among parents. They just have no idea. I mean, there’s been so many, just even this year in the last couple of months, school started. We’ve uncovered things. There’s, you know, kids’ phones have so much information on them. And obviously there’s a lot of bad things out there that are at kid’s fingertips. And so, parents, you know, one, they either come in with me saying, “Hey, I just saw all this stuff on my kid’s phone” and they’re just floored at how some of these kids are into drugs. And obviously, the lifestyle that goes with that, there’s a lot of negative things that go with drugs, obviously, you know, depending on how far you get into it and that can get into other areas as far as you know, types of trafficking and things like that. Obviously, that’s kind of worst-case scenario, but it does. It does happen. But yeah, parents are just always super shocked at what their kid has been doing. You know, and so it’s definitely a battle, but there’s a lot of good parents out there that want to get their kids help or they’ve noticed something they’re kids doing that they think they need some type of intervention. But yeah, it’s definitely a common thing for parents to be completely just floored at what their kids are into. So, it’s important to be educate yourself. Google is, you know, some people think it’s bad, which does have, you know, it’s like anything else. You can use it for good or bad. But if you see your kid wearing a shirt that you don’t recognize and it seems maybe kind of funny or odd Google it and see what is behind it, because there are a lot of times what kids wear and the music they listen to has so many different meanings. So, there’s clothing that we picked up in just in our local schools here, and I’m sure it’s no different than anywhere else but specific like a brownies. So, if you see a brownies shirt, you may think and it’s not really. But in reality, there is a clothing, um, not necessarily clothing line, but it’s just one phrase on a shirt that means like marijuana brownies. And it’s huge among kids and kids. All know what it means is. The really interesting part is


Jen: I was thinking brownies like the little Girl Scouts


Deputy Carley: But sure, you know, it is just great. But all these kids know, like they all know what with the latest trends are with clothing and with music and, you know, hidden meanings and things like that. So, it’s really hard for parents. There is a lot of stuff out there for them to try to keep track of. But I would say one of the biggest things is clothing and cell phones. Keep track of those two things. My, my kids, you know, they don’t have cell phones, but they do have some electronics that their apps are really, really few. Like, I don’t allow them to watch much stuff because there’s just so much stuff out there with regards to drugs and violence. And those two things kind of go hand in hand, which is why I mentioned it. But there’s just so much out there. It’s important to keep, you know, to keep your eye on your kids and what they’re what they’re watching. I just can’t stress that enough.


Sara: So that makes me wonder about social media. How much does that play a role in this?

Deputy Carley: Huge! Well, and that's why I bring up electronics, because cell phone, I mean, it's all social media that they're getting on. Kids primarily communicate through social media, whether it's Snapchat, Tik Tok, Google Hangouts, Google Hangouts is really tough because it's not really monitored that well. As far as what goes on there, I mean, we've had a lot of different cases with a lot of different ranges of crimes that have been committed on Google Hangouts. It's not to get into other topics, I guess, but uh, sexual predators and things like that are huge on that type of stuff. And it's good to have a conversation with your kid about those types of things because it can really have a negative effect on kid’s big time, especially when they get involved in that stuff.


Jen: So, what is the number that is connected to marijuana? It’s four something


Deputy Carley: 420


Jen: 420. My stepdaughter always, always points out for 20 and I know what it means. And I always ask her, Is this an issue we need? No, no. I just think it's funny, but I'm just I just worries me because you never know. Is it just funny or is she trying it or whatnot and being a step parent, that's hard of I don't have control of that, and she's not in our home except for every other weekend. But yeah, it's just so many little things like you would never think of. A number would be connected to a drug. Right? But there's lots of in my mind like a brownie that's just silly. Right? Why would you connect the two?


Deputy Carley: Right? You know, it’s just there’s so many things out there and kids these days are just bombarded. Like I said, clothing, entertainment, it’s they’re getting hit from all sides and it’s really tough for kids these days. I teach a law enforcement class there at the local high school, and one of the things we do talk about is, you know, being aware of your surroundings and not falling into these types of things. I mean, I always joke with them that I sound like my dad because he always used to hear that music is terrible. And you know, and come to find out he was right, even though I was like, whatever, dad. But nowadays it is even worse. You know, it is. There is so much drugs and violence portrayed on these you because anybody can make a YouTube video. Everybody’s trying to be the next biggest thing. And so, there’s just so many things on there and it just snowballs. You know, something catches on that glorifies some type of drug or violence than every kid’s trying to copycat it.


Jen: Well, then you almost have to up do yourself because, oh, that was really cool. And that took off on social media. Now I got to think of something bigger and better. Right to top myself, which is scary, because then that’s a never ending


Deputy Carley: Right and back to the 420 thing like you were talking about. You know, it's good as a parent to be aware of those things because some parents would have no idea, you know? But now you're aware you can look for other signs and indicators, you know, sort of clothing, entertainment. My kids are young enough now, but when they get little bit older towards high school, aged are probably going to think I'm some psycho dad, but I'm pretty. I'm pretty strict about what they watch, what they read and because I just see it a lot. So, seeing that you that you know, some of those things are picking up on some of those things is half the battle and kind of put you onto because parents have that intuition, you know? And it puts you on to that. So, if you start seeing other things as far as clothing, entertainment, a big thing is behavior changes. There's a couple of different things that parents will see changes in behavior, and it's not 100 percent. Some kids can hide it pretty well. But for the most part, you know, changes in behavior, changes in clothing. You all sudden they go from A's and B's to D's and F's crowds. They hang out with stuff they're into. So, if they're starting to be in certain trends, there's certain trends that can come out that is related to drugs and they'll think it's cool. And so, to kind of just be aware of that and knowing if your kids starting to act different, also, they may have bouts with depression, isolate themselves. They're all signs of some type of drug use or some issue in general, but it's pretty common among kids to get into drugs. They just they just change kind of who they are because that's what drugs do they alter, you know, your behavior and your mindset. So, it's one thing to look out for.


Jen: I do remember a girl growing up. I mean, we were probably about 16. And any activity we were at for church, she would be on the floor sleeping and teachers would just allow her to lie on the floor because they were older women. They didn't understand, and I didn't really understand anything at that point either, I don't think. But several months after she just started sleeping everywhere, when she came to activities and things come to find out she is in a drug rehab, and that whole time, she is just either on something or coming down from something or whatnot, and it really affected the rest of her life. And so those changes are super important to watch out for those changes in your kids. And I think this is an important part of this also is communication with your kids. 100 percent is talking to him about this stuff. I mean, like, I ask Lizzy these things, but she and I have conversations she gets. She rolls her eyes. She's like, Oh, Jen is just your work again or whatever the case may be, but she's like, I know I'm not supposed to go this Parr, this Park, or this park. And I'm like, I'm glad that you have those boundaries set up for you. And. But I think communication, be willing to talk to them about it. Ask them, educate me. I don't know this stuff. So, educate me about it. Maybe they're willing to tell you more about it, or Google is a great place to find out. All that stuff, but communication is huge.


Sara: I keep thinking about marijuana. You said that that's the most common marijuana vaping among teens, right? And I was just wondering where marijuana has become legal in some states. Have you seen an influx?


Deputy Carley: Oh Yeah. Yeah. I can't remember when Colorado 2014, I think it legalized that we did see an influx see in marijuana specifically. And you know, they compare it to opioids, which obviously marijuana doesn't have maybe as negative effects as opioids because you can overdose on opioids. But some of the new stuff and parents don't realize some of the new marijuana that's come out is it's more potent. It's not synthetic, but they are. They are able to refine it and reduce it down enough. So average percent of THC in, you know, old school marijuana, I think, was around a couple of percent, maybe five percent, 10 percent at the most. Some of these wax infused THC compounds are getting a 50, 60, 70 percent, and it's really having a negative effect on whoever it is that smoking it so. But back to the you know, your question about influx? Yeah, we have seen it and it's becoming more acceptable in society and they're just like any other drug. You know, there's probably some therapeutic stuff for that. And obviously, I'm not a doctor or anything, but I do know that it does affect how kids behave and it's a negative effect on how they behave. They're withdrawn. They don't, they don't want to interact with family as well. Their schooling really goes down and they struggle with that. And then depression trying to deal with the world as a kid without drugs is super difficult. When you throw any type of, you know, drug or mind-altering substance, it just compounds it and it makes it makes it really hard for kids to cope. And it's just not something that helps them out

Sara: Well and correct me if I'm wrong, But it's addicting, right? And my understanding it’s kind of a gateway drug thing.


Deputy Carley: It can be, yes, because a lot of times and it’s not that kids will smoke marijuana and be like, Well, I got to try something else, not at a party and they have marijuana, and then maybe somebody brings something else is usually how it happens. And some kids are able to say, No, I don’t want to do that. But then a lot of times kids are, I’ll try that too. So, it’s not just the drug itself, it’s the environment that comes with it, for the most part. And it definitely can lead to more serious things. From what I’ve read, Marijuana maybe not be as addicting as maybe opioids, heroin, things like that, but you definitely get in, put yourself in situations where you can get those harder drugs and you never know what somebody is giving you, especially with this manufactured THC wax stuff. You don’t know what’s in it. Like somebody’s hands, you wax. It’s like, I mean, there could be a million things in there and you don’t know what it is.


Sara: So, I actually don’t even know what we’re talking about when we say wax. What is that? Educate our listeners.


Deputy Carley: Marijuana wax is, it’s an it’s a way to infuse marijuana and a way to smoke it in various different things or consume it various different ways. You can put it in an incense burner or kids will just get those metal straws and those people put it in the end of that. You can also put it in vapes,


Sara: And you light it? Yeah. So, thing you’re using, right?


Deputy Carley: Yeah. So, all the incense burner could just be warming up and, you know, aerosols. Right, OK? And you just never know what’s in. And I talk with kids about couches and I’m like, Do you know what’s in this? Like, where did you get this from. You know, and then they know where they get it from, but they don’t know where it comes from. And there’s a lot of drugs coming in from overseas and other countries. And you just, I mean, you don’t know where that stuff comes from. Obviously, the FDA doesn’t regulate it. So yeah, it’s super, super dangerous, can be super dangerous as well. So, yeah,

Jen: I like watching those shows that teach you about or tell you about drugs, and I’m always amazed at like, yeah, we you put gasoline in there and then you put this in there and I’m like, Those are all harmful chemicals.


Deputy Carley: You never know where these people are making these stuff, which does say, you know, there needs to be some regulation, obviously. And I think we've tried to do that. But with any substance that is addictive or that you rely on to get through the day or through problems as far as you know, mentally or whatever, kids just don't realize, how bad drugs can be. And how much worse it can make their life as far as you know, if they abuse it. So obviously if you're under the doctor's care and you're able to, he's able to watch, you do things. It's a totally different story, but a lot of that isn't happening.

Sara: Well, one thing that I want to say with this marijuana thing is from a family educator perspective and a child development perspective, it is becoming more common and socially acceptable to smoke marijuana. But I think we forget that teenagers’ brain is not fully developed. And so now we're adding in some sort of substance that is altering that development and changing how their brain can fully develop. And I mean, until age 25, that's a long time, a lot of years and your brain still needing to fully develop that. They're having these other things altering how their brain is coming together. And so that's something as parents that we need to remember that just because marijuana is legal doesn't mean that it's safe, and it doesn't mean that it's not going to change how our kids are developing.


Jen: Yeah, most definitely.

Deputy Carley: Right.


Jen: So, with these kids getting their hands-on drugs, how do they pay for it?


Deputy Carley: Any way they can. so kids will, it’s interesting. Sometimes it’s kind of like bumming gas money off your body. Sometimes, sometimes not. Sometimes a lot of times. Actually, these people will get kids hooked into the drugs by giving it to them and say, “Hey, you know, try this out if you like it”. And that’s their way of being, you know, expanding their clientele, hoping maybe they will be, you know, someone who will get more kids contacted and able to sell more. It’s basically a business enterprise for them, so they give out free stuff and when they get hooked on it, then they start charging them. And you know, a lot of a lot of kids in high school have jobs. But obviously when you when you abuse drugs, that doesn’t last very long usually. So, then the only when you can’t keep a job because you know you’re abusing any type of drugs or alcohol, you have to turn to crime to get money. And we see that a lot as well. Kids all go into locker rooms, get wallets, you know, just any, any way they can get money to pay for not just the drugs, but obviously food, anything you know, normal high school kids would want to buy. So, kids do turn to crime and stealing from others to try and pay for it, like you said, either the drugs or whatever else they want to. Sometimes parents just give them quite a bit of money and they have a linked account. A lot of times they’re paying with different type of cash app’s, you know, they’ll pay that way as well. And so, it’s just they get it from all sorts of different sources. So, kids can be pretty ingenious in the ways they get stuff. So, and some of it is. Rob Peter to pay Paul. So, then they’ll say someone owes them money and they’ll try to get that money to pay who they owe. And then they owe more people money and it just gets to be a huge problem. A lot of the kids that I talked to because I always ask them, How do you get into this stuff? Oh, well, I met so-and-so to park and you know, it was some 20-year-old that’s hanging around the park and that’s how they get them, you know? And then word travels fast, you know, friends tell friends, friends get friends involved, and it’s just it spreads like wildfire. So yeah, they can get it from anywhere. So, it’s another thing for parents to be conscientious of. You know, it’s crazy. Some of the stuff I’ve found on phones that parents had no idea about, you know, openly talking about, “Hey, I need this much weed, is it still 20 bucks?” just on their snap account and I’m reading it, you know, and parents just have no idea, you know? Yeah. So, it’s definitely and it’s hard to be a parent in this day and age. I mean, those are to be a kid, I guess, but it’s hard to raise kids in this day and age. It’s so much stuff. But I would say clothing, electronics control those two things. Well, entertainment goes along with clothing, I guess. But entertainment, electronics, if you can control those two things you can, you can do a lot to dissuade kids from getting involved in that stuff.


Sara: So as far as prevention goes, those are the two things you could say and focus on. That It is good to know


Deputy Carley: What they’re watching, listening to and then whatever’s going on social media wise or whatever on their electronics. And parents don’t be afraid to take electronics away because it is the best, worst thing. You know, a lot of kids, it’s their avenue to getting these drugs. And if you take that away, it makes it a lot harder for them to get it.

Jen: I know with the girl from my youth, I mean the. Is back in the 80s, but she traded a lot of sex for her drugs. Do we see that still?


Deputy Carley: Yes, we see that too. Yeah, I had a case not too long ago involving a similar thing. Yes, unfortunately, these predators not only get kids in to help sell stuff or do their criminal activity. They also do it to get sex. And so, they get these 13, 14, 15-year-old girls hooked on drugs. And then pretty soon they're doing, you know, all sorts of stuff with them and just taking real advantage of them. And we do see that and we are able to get those girls help, but unfortunately, not all of them come forward. And so, it's something that we, as law enforcement, really try to hone in on because it's all it's similar indicators. You know, if we talk to friends of individuals, you know, they'll isolate themselves. They have this new boyfriend on, you know, over the internet that they've found or they just have this new boyfriend that's quite a bit older. Not that that necessarily that always happens because sometimes they're the same age, but it's one thing to look out for if you know, then they start dressing completely different than what they normally would. Like you said, you know, they have a new boyfriend. They're always wanting to spend time with them, their behavior changes and they start to be controlled by these people. We have seen that, unfortunately, but it's something that we definitely continue to try and crack down on and find. So, it does happen. And even locally,


Jen: That's so sad. Breaks my heart. These kids have enough to deal with, to have to have all of that other stuff, too. I can't even imagine.

Sara: Well, and it makes me think about how we live in a pretty quiet community, you know, and I think as parents, a lot of times we just think, Oh, it doesn't happen here. That happens in other places, not here, you know, but in our quiet community. We have a school resource officer in here with us telling us that it happens right here in a quiet community.


Jen: When I think about just what we deal with on a regular basis, I mean, a lot of them have come from. They either have an addiction themselves or, you know, the kids are coming here because of a drug problem. And so even in small towns, it can be a huge problem.


Sara: Thinking about that and just families and how like these teens, when you discover or know that this is happening with them, are you ever shocked, like, not from this family? I would never have seen that coming. Or, you know, like, I don’t know how to say what I’m trying to ask.


Jen: I think, like with mental health, you think, Oh, that’s only low economic families, but or abuse, that’s only with the lower economic families. So, drugs you’re thinking are only the lower.


Sara: Yeah, we kind have these like biases or stereotypes in our minds. But what you see doesn’t fit that?


Deputy Carley: Drugs do not discriminate. Typically, people with more money are able to get more help for their kids. There is that. So maybe it doesn't seem like it is much, but definitely it doesn't discriminate. I mean, there's been, you know, kids from all background’s family wise. I will say this, though one thing I have noticed is the ability to deal with it. It does come back to a strong family. So, if there if there is, you know, that environment of a strong family, they're able to deal with it a lot better because sometimes you know, kids come from broken homes or their parents are addicted to drugs. And it definitely is really difficult for the kids. So, but yeah, it doesn't discriminate. I don't know it. Kids maybe have more time that you know, that are from single parent homes or because obviously parents got to work, you know? And so, when kids have more time to do things, they usually find things and sometimes it's good. Sometimes it's not. So, it doesn't really discriminate across the board. Going back to the community thing, you know, we see everything big cities do. It's just not as often, not nearly as frequent. Mm hmm. And so that's probably the biggest difference with the community is still great community here. But don't be blinded by you live in a small community wherever you're at that things don't happen. And in small communities, the smaller, you know, obviously, if drugs aren't prevalent everywhere, but even the smallest has a big impact on small communities because they're smaller communities, you know, so it's something to always be aware of and to look out for.

Jen: I was just watching his called dope sick, and it's about the opioid problem, and it goes off of true information and things like that. But it was a small town in Kentucky where it became a huge problem. And I like how you said it affects the individual and then the family, and it's going to eventually affect your community, which it did within the small community, but yeah, we think, oh, well, that's their problem where we don't have to worry about that. But really, it does spill out into the community and does become an issue that we all need to be aware of.

Deputy Carley: And the one thing is really tough with addiction is parents. A lot of times they are more than willing to do whatever, but the person that's addicted maybe doesn't think they need help, don't want help. You know, I've had people say that they're just here to prove the world wrong about certain stereotypes with drugs, even though they can't see on the outside how much it is affecting themselves, their family, you know, their school, things like that. Because just based on my experience, almost 20 years in law enforcement. Drugs destroy families. They just do, especially if there's a huge addiction. It tears families apart. Domestic violence. Some of the stuff we deal with a lot of times there is some type of alcohol or drug involved. Because normal people that aren't abusing that, normally they're, you know, they're rational people, they think, you know, they don't act out of, you know, what their mind or what they normally would, but they get involved in some type of alcohol or drug, and pretty soon they get violent. They get irrational. And it's just a huge negative effect. And obviously, that's not everybody, but it is a common theme among these domestic violence situations that we go to. And it's just tough. It really is. But if we educate ourselves and don't allow our kids to abuse drugs or get addicted to things and usually helps out so right.


Sara: And that's the purpose of this podcast is we try to provide information to parents and families, just little snippets that they can take away and hopefully apply to help strengthen their family and protect their children,

Jen: And hopefully light a spark to where you're like, OK, now I want to. I want to know more. I need to know more, right? And go and do research on their own.


Sara: Yeah. Well, Deputy Carley, we want to thank you for coming!


Deputy Carley: Thanks for having me!


Sara: Yeah, we really appreciate the things that you’ve shared, and it’s actually sparked some thoughts for other podcasts that I think would be really beneficial because it’s actually kind of funny today. In the office, there were some jokes made about generation gaps, right? And there are things that you said that I was like, Oh man, I’m really falling to this other side of the generation.

Deputy Carley: So, I always joke about, I sound like my dad.


Sara: Yeah. Well, I think that you talked about some things that because of what you see in the schools, you have more experience than parents, you know, and things that I get anxious about, like my kids are never going to have phones because there's so many apps and I can't keep track of all this and you see that kind of stuff. And so, I think an episode that provides more information about just apps, you know, helping parents know what their kids can be hiding in their phones and things like that could really be a good podcast, so we might have to have you back.

Deputy Carley: It would be really good because kids these days are making multiple accounts of the same apps. They have one for their parents to see, they have one for themselves. There’s a lot of different things that kids are doing to hide the stuff that they’re actually doing.


Sara: You know, it just gets so overwhelming.


Deputy Carley: Right, there's a lot out there. It's true.

Sara: Well, to our listeners. We hope that you enjoyed this episode and were able to take some things away to apply in your homes if you need to. If you have any questions, you can contact Jenn or myself through email at parents at the family place, Utah dot org, or you can find us on social media. Sarah Hendricks Dash the Family Place


Jen: And Jen Daly dash the Family Place


Sara: If you would like to receive parenting tips, you can text “TFP” to 33222. That's all that we have for you. Thanks for joining us, and we'll catch again next week on the Parents Place.


Thanks again for listening. The Family Place is a non-profit organization in Logan, Utah, with a mission to strengthen families and protect children. We call ourselves starfish throwers. If you're unsure what that means, refer back to our introduction episode where we explain it. The good news is you can be a starfish thrower too by subscribing to the Parents Place podcast and liking our social media pages. If this episode resonated with you, please share it with others and help us get our message out to more people. Also, be sure to check the show notes for links to information referenced in this episode. That's all for now, but we'll catch you again next time on the Parents Place.


Contact:

- Record questions here: https://anchor.fm/theparentsplace

- Email us: parents@thefamilyplaceutah.org

- Text "TFP" to 33222 for weekly parenting tips

- Find us on social media: https://www.facebook.com/jendalyTFP

Comentarios


bottom of page