top of page
  • Instagram
  • Facebook

Teen Slang



G.O.A.T, drip, boujee, and the list goes on. Jen and Hilary guess what slang terms mean, learn the definitions, discuss some 80's slang, and talk about how slang is created. Join us this week to hear Jen and Hilary be embarrassed and delighted by current slang.


Listen Here:



Rather Read than Listen? Read the Transcription Here:


Jen: Welcome to the Parents Place podcast with Hillary and Jen.

 

Hilary: Welcome to the Parents Place Podcast. So, what will I title of this podcast? So this is a ‘let's see how ridiculous an old Jen and Hilary can look for the next 20 minutes’, right? We'll see what it turns out to be. So, we're going to talk a little bit about where slang comes from. So your you know how your teenagers talk to you and you're like, ‘I have no idea what you just said’ . Those are the sorts of things that we want to hear about today, of why we have it and what it's for and and how we maneuver this this world of nonsense words that come to our mind from time to time. Oh, my goodness. I am not at all going to try to convince you that I am like in the know when it comes to all things cool and and hip and teenager generation-ish. It is my nieces and nephews, my son is only 13 , so I don't think he's quite there yet. He's got a few slang terms that I'm fairly familiar with, but every once in a while, my older nieces and nephews will say things and I'm like where the heck did you get that one? I had no idea

Jen: I had, I asked Lizzie, who's 16, and I said, ‘So what are some good slang words and what do they mean?’ and she started typing it, and then she sent me the article or all the words that we have. She's like, ‘Just look here. We use all of those.’ And I'm like, I don't remember knowing all of that when I was a high schooler.

Hilary: No

 

Jen: I don’t remember using it.

 

Hilary: No, no. Well, it's interesting because, I mean I think we’ve had different slang terms and phrases over the course of time, right? But I actually was I was looking at a few articles yesterday and it made the comment about how the use of social media has just caused this this, you know, like generation of slang terms because they're so widely wide, widely used in these different platforms. And so it's maybe one of those things where I don’t know growing up we did have a handful of different terms, but I think nowadays when you've got a really popular influencer that says something and then they speak on their platform and hundreds of thousands of millions people hear it, it's real easy for it to spread real quickly. So I don't know it, yeah. So I'm like, that would make sense why you hear them so, you know, more often than not these days .

 

Jen: I want to come up with a good one. I want my words to become slang.

 

Hilary: What's the funny thing is, how does one of these even start, right? Like one day, do you just wake up and you're like I don't like the phrase for a TV. I might come up with something different, right? And then you say it, and if you're cool and hip enough, everybody else will start to say it too.

 

Jen: Yeah, I have no idea. Well I wrote a sentence. Would you like to hear it?

 

Hilary: Okay, test me. Let's see how it is.

 

Jen: So, it says ‘This is so dope and poppin. I want to flex how gucci we are. Did you know we have a stand of the podcast?’

 

Hilary: We sound like idiots. I’ve heard, I’ve heard poppin and what was it? How, I mean I could assume I know how Gucci we are right? Because I could take a guess on that one. But I’ve never heard

 

Jen: What’d you guess on Gucci?

 

Hilary: Well, I mean, Gucci is a really, you know, like, glamorous company. So I would guess, like, you're really cool if you're Gucci.

 

Jen: I guess so.

 

Hilary: But I've just never heard of that. I've never heard Stan before. That's right, Stan?

 

Jen: Uh huh. 

 

Hilary: Okay.

 

Jen: So, this is what the sentence is.

 

Hilary: So, translate it into old people terms.

 

Jen: This is back in old people. This is so cool. I want to show our showoff how trendy we are. Did you know we have an obsessive fan of the podcast.

 

Hilary: And it's too hard to say ‘obsessive’. So I have to say ‘Stan’. Oh my gosh, that's amazing. 

 

Jen: Crazy

 

Hilary: Okay, I don’t have a sentence for you, but I’ll throw out a few words for you, okay?

 

Jen: And I have to guess what they are?

 

Hilary: You got to guess what it is. 

 

Jen: Oh no

 

Hilary: So, this one’s easy. I’ve heard this one a lot. When someone says it’s cringe. What does that mean?

 

Jen: Like, yucky?

 

Hilary: Yeah, yeah, yucky. Like embarrassing if it happens. Like ‘that was so cringe’, like, ‘oh mom, don't say these words because that's so cringe’. That's what my child would say. I'm really embarrassing. I should stop even trying something like that.

 

Jen: So first off the bat, I got it wrong.

 

Hilary: All right, let's see what else is on my list. This is the list that we pulled up so. Oh, you’ve heard this one. You’ll hear this people call it cray.

 

Jen: Oh, you're cray cray.

 

Hilary: Yeah, right!

 

Jen: Or you're crazy.

 

Hilary: Crazy. Yep. Yep.

 

Jen: One-one.

 

Hilary: What is it?

 

Jen: One-one. One I lost one I won.

 

Hilary: Oh, I've never heard of that one before. Interesting. Have you ever heard of Drip? My, my niece says that.

 

Jen: Drip? Like a drip of water?

 

Hilary: No, no, no. Like my outfit is drip.

 

Jen: So, I would say that would be cool.

 

Hilary: Yeah, like cool.

 

Jen: Or fashionable .

 

Hilary: Fashionable. Uh huh. Yep. Yep. I say this too. Let's see. Let's see. Let's get another good one. Let's do one more. Oh, yeah. I see the Gucci one on there. Um, oh, I heard people say this one all the time, and I had no idea. This shows how old we are. When people call them my bae, like b-a-e.

 

Jen: That is the most hated one. Like my boyfriend or girlfriend, isn't it ?

 

Hilary: Yes!

 

Jen: Whenever people it say I just want to go, bleh. It just drives me crazy, I don’t know why. And maybe because I have someone in my life that uses it all the time. 

 

Hilary: But you’re like, ‘No more!”

 

Jen: Yeah.

 

Hilary: Okay, this will make you feel better. I've got, let me find it. Slang words from the eighties. 

 

Jen: Ooh

 

Hilary: Yeah, that's right. That's right. We'll see if we sounded just as ridiculous. So, these are more phrases. They're slang words and phrases. So when somebody said, ‘gag me with a spoon’.

 

Jen: Yuck, you’re so stupid.

 

Hilary: Right. Disgusting. Yes. Okay, what about Gnarly?

 

Jen: Like, cool.

 

Hilary: Yeah right. That was really cool, that was really awesome. Yeah, we said that one kay, especially if you're a little surfers. My homeboy, my homegirl.

 

Jen: That’s a friend.

 

Hilary: Yeah, let's see. What is a wannabe?

 

Jen: Someone who wants to be part of a group but can't be in that group because they're not so cool.

 

Hilary: Right? Kay and then we had this phrase, ‘Eat my shorts’. Where's that from?

 

Jen: That one I don't remember.

 

Hilary: You don’t remember? That was, that was Bart Simpson.

 

Jen: I was never allowed to watch Bart Simpson.

 

Hilary: We won’t admit that we watched The Simpsons back then. It’s to tell someone to stop bothering you, go away, right?

 

Jen: Yeah.

 

Hilary: Yes, yes. And I like this one. I don't know if we like, said this all the time, but we all know this infamous this phrase. Where's the beef? Do you remember what commercial that was from?

 

Jen: Wasn’t it Wendy’s?

 

Hilary: Yeah, it was from Wendy's. Yep

 

Jen: Yeah.

 

Hilary: Oh, gosh. 

 

Jen: So, we had some, but they were kind of like self-explanatory. 

 

Hilary: They actually made sense.  

 

Jen: Yeah. I just found this one. Um. Oh, I found two that would be. Diamond Hands. What do you think Diamond hands would be?

 

Hilary: Diamond hands? I don't know, but it sounds fancy. I would just I have no idea. I, all I imagine is just like a hand. A diamond encrusted glove. Like a Michael Jackson glove.

 

Jen: It means you're taking a major financial risk.

 

Hilary: Interesting.

 

Jen: Yeah, the other one I just

 

Hilary: I would never have put that together.

 

Jen: No, I wouldn't have either. Fauci Ouchi. What would that be?

 

Hilary: I don't know if I want to guess that one. What?

 

Jen: It's just COVID 19 vaccine.

 

Hilary: That's what they call it?

 

Jen: Because of Fauci who was the doctor. And then Ouchi for the pin prick, I guess.

 

Hilary: Oh, my goodness. That sounds like something I might be that my four-year-old would make up.

 

Jen: I think one thing why I'm so intrigued by slang is because they have a lot of naughty slang.

 

Hilary: I know

 

Jen: But I have no clue what things mean.

 

Hilary: Yes

 

Jen: And I think it's important for parents to do a little research, so you know what your kid is saying that's inappropriate.

 

Hilary: Yeah, it's true. Especially when you start looking at like, like the abbreviation of words or there's a lot of like acronyms that they’ll use for different phrases so that it looks innocent, but it's really not innocent. I was reading, you know, because we all know how our children text these days. Like, my kids always make fun of me because I text in full sentences still, and I use punctuation because that's what I learned to do, right? As an educated individual. But they always they always joke with me when I type things out. They're like, Mom, you don’t type it out, you just say this and it's like. and, you know, we have so many of those that I think I think the nature of the beast is because I think there's a lot of parents that are like slang changes so quickly. Right. There's a new word every single day. And as soon as I'm caught up on what is, quote unquote, cool for the teenagers, like that's old news. You know, kids always joke that the only the old all the old moms and dads are on Facebook because that's not cool anymore. And so there's always something new. There's always something better. There's always something hip. And so. But I agree with you that I think, you know, talk to your kids and as they're using these phrases, pause and be like, okay, what the heck did that just mean? Like, you just said a word and I have no idea what that word means. Right? It’s okay to try.

 

Jen: Yeah, I'm just looking at some of the abbreviations on this list. Where did it go? Oh, I'm not even going to try to say it. It's O-o-m-f.

 

Hilary: O-o-m-f. Give me the first word.

 

Jen: One.

 

Hilary: I have no idea still.

 

Jen: One of my friends.

 

Hilary: Oh, yeah. See things like that? 

 

Jen: That's how I am.

 

Hilary: Out those four words, right?

 

Jen: Yeah, that’s how I am, I have to stop and I’m like, ‘what would this say?’ I don’t know.

 

Hilary: Oh my goodness. It’s true. We live in a rapid generation where things have to be done quickly or else they’re not done at all. And so I think you get these abbreviations because typing something out or saying something, it takes too much time.

 

Jen: Oh, the bae. The one that you said that I had, well before anyone else.

 

Hilary: Oh, so that is another one.

 

Jen: You make, you're more important than anyone else. Who would’ve thunk?

 

Hilary: Look how educated we are, I know, I know

 

Jen: Oh! Try this one, A/S/L

 

Hilary: I just think it's so hilarious because ASL stands for something already. So how do we change that?

 

Jen: It's not what we mean. It's the back slashes. Age, sex and location.

 

Hilary: Oh. And it's true, you see, if you see something like that on our child's phone, and it might be something that clearly, we need to look into because it may be a safety thing.

 

Jen: Yeah. I just think it’s where communication comes in, you can talk to your kids.

 

Hilary: Yeah

 

Jen: Because it’s not just words and things like that. It’s emojis as well.

 

Hilary: Yep. Yep.

 

Jen: And this is a world no parent. I don't want to say no parent now knows what this is. But a parent of older children, I mean, we don't know what the stuff is because we didn't live through this so it’s all brand new. We didn't have all the technology that people have now. So, you gotta do the research, gotta talk to our kids. And find out why they're talking like they haven't been schooled.

 

Hilary: And, you know, I think that parents need to remember, because I think sometimes we as parents put on this face that, like we know, we know we're cool, we're hip we got all the things we know you're talking about. And I think it's okay, to be honest, to be like, I have no idea what you're saying right now, you know, and just just call it as it is! It's okay to tell our kids ‘I'm oblivious to what this means. Please tell me, please inform me on this.’ And you may have a teenager that rolls their eyes. And I'm like, ‘Are you kidding me mom? You have no idea?’, yeah, I have no idea so tell me, tell me, please.

 

Jen: Yeah. Yeah.

 

Hilary: You know, there's no need to sugarcoat it, right? We don't know, so ask. And that's okay.

 

Jen: The other thing about this that I thought was interesting is that they have slang for different regions. So, there's slang for New York, slang for Chicago.

 

Hilary: So just when you think you've gotten it figured out, then you go to a different state and you got to start all over, huh?

 

Jen: Mm hmm. So we should attach this little list so people can look at it and hopefully learn something.

 

Hilary: That's a good idea. We will include it we'll include it in our notes. And if anything, it'll give you a laugh because you’ll go ‘wow 20 something pages of words that I've never heard of before’.

 

Jen: Very true.

 

Hilary: And what's always so interesting is what ones stick and which ones don't, Right? I mean, we were we referred to the term selfie. That was a slang, you know, like, what did we call it before?

 

Jen: I don't know.

 

Hilary: We just said

 

Jen: A picture

 

Hilary: Stand real close to me and take a picture right. And someone developed that term selfie and now we would never say anything otherwise. So it's always interesting which ones stand the test of time and which ones are just for a for a moment.

 

Jen: Well one last one. Did you know what Boujee is? 

 

Hilary: Oh, I’ve heard that

 

Jen: I just learned that. That it's fancy or an extravagant.

 

Hilary: Yes. Okay, today, let's decide on ours. What's our term for something that's really cool? I'm going to make it the most

 

Jen: Something that’s really cool?

 

Hilary: The most ridiculous word I can come up with. I'm going to say something cool means hobble gobble.

 

Jen: Hobble gobble? Okay.

 

Hilary: So, from now on, when we speak on this podcast, and we talk about something that's really cool Jen and I are going to use the phrase hobble gobble, okay?

 

Jen: And when I mess up, I'm going to say farfanugen.

 

Hilary: Because we are high enough in the ranks of social media that our words will catch on, won't they?

 

Jen: Absolutely.

 

Hilary: Okay, maybe only in my home, but that's okay. I can pretend

 

Jen: You’re still cool.

 

Hilary: I can pretend to be cool. Thank you. I'll pretend for the day that I am. So, parents, don't be flustered if you don't know those terms. Right? They come; they go. Just ask your kids and have that open communication and make it fun, right?

 

Jen: Yep, yep.

 

Hilary: And hopefully they'll laugh at you, but then they'll tell you what it means, and you can move on with your life, right?

 

Jen: Yeah, yeah. Well, this was, a learning-

 

Hilary: I was like, enlightening? What's the word we should use to describe this?

 

Jen: Yeah, we learned a little bit.

 

Hilary: Embarrassing? 

 

Jen: Yeah, so thank you for coming. Hopefully this has been at least a little bit fun for you. But also, we will attach all the words with all the meanings to our show notes. So, we hope that you have a great week. We'll see you back here and remember to be kind and patient with yourself. ]


Thank you for listening to the Parents Place podcast. If you would like to reach us, you can at parents@TheFamilyPlaceUtah.org or you can reach Jen on Facebook Jen Daly-The Family Place. Please check out our show notes for any additional information. Our website is TheFamilyPlaceUtah.org. If you're interested in any of our upcoming virtual classes, we'd love to see you there.


Contact us:

-Email us questions or topic ideas: parents@thefamilyplaceutah.org

Comments


bottom of page