top of page

Understanding Anger in Parenting

Updated: Jan 24, 2023


Today we're talking about anger. What is it? What does it do to our body? How can we channel it into something productive instead of something negative? Both as adults and as children, we need to learn to control our anger and not give all the power to the source of the anger.



Listen Here:


Can't Listen? Read the Transcription Here:


Jen: Hello and welcome to the Parents Place, a podcast put out by the Family Place for parents to develop skills that will strengthen families and provide tools that will help each of us in our parenting efforts. No matter our skills we can always use reminders that help us work towards a safer, happier home. I'm your host. Jennifer Daly, the Education Director at the Family Place and my co-host is Sara Hendricks, a family educator at the Family Place. Every week, we will interview professionals that will provide valuable information that will make a difference when you apply it directly to your life. Thank you for joining us. Now, let's get started with today's episode.


Sara: Hello and welcome to the Parents Place podcast! I'm your host, Sara Hendricks,


Jen: and I'm your co-host Jen Daly.


Sara: Today, we decided to interrupt our regularly scheduled episodes to insert an episode we weren't planning on doing, but feel that it's really important and we need to bring it in right now. There's a lot going on in the United States, and with that, it brings out a lot of emotions in people. And so today we want to talk about anger. Hopefully, the things that we talk about today will help all of us in knowing how to manage our anger and our emotions and channel them in a way that can be positive both in ourselves as adults, but also in our children, because they experience anger as well. So, I feel like it's really important for us to understand anger. So, let's start with the definition.


Jen: So here is what Webster Dictionary says “a strong feeling of being upset or annoyed because of something wrong or bad. The feeling that makes someone want to hurt other people to shout etc”. With that definition, I think it's also important to understand that anger is not a primary emotion. It's not one that we just automatically feel there's always other feelings or emotions that come up prior to us actually getting angry. It's a secondary emotion. So just like it was saying in the definition is when we're feeling annoyed or frustrated, overly stressed, there's lots of different emotions that come prior to actually getting angry.


Sara: Something that I thought was interesting hearing the definition was when it said, And you'll have to correct me, I don't have it in front of me. But when I said “feeling wronged or…” What was that part?


Jen: “…because of something that went wrong or bad”


Sara: Yeah, something that went wrong or bad. I feel like anger is caused by something, like we're responding to something that's happened.


Jen: Yes. But I think at the same time, it's caused by something. We have those feelings. But at the same time, we still have the power to choose. Absolutely. Because I think a lot of times when we're angry, we like to blame it on other people like you made me angry. And no, we need to take back that power because that's giving way too much power to the other person or the other, whatever it may be situation. I think we need to take that power back and say, “OK, I get to choose and I'm going to choose not to be angry at this. I can be frustrated with it, but I'm going to choose to do something to either go for a walk or whatever to get this out of my system. I'm not going to blow up.”


Sara: I like that. I agree that we need to keep that power with ourselves and not get so much power to the other person or the situation by allowing it to control how we respond and then what our actions become. So, we really need to look at anger differently and really try to understand what anger is and what it does to us so that we can be in control when those situations arise.


Jen: Agreed. I feel like we give so much power away to other people and we need to take it back for ourselves because ultimately, we are responsible for our actions, not the other person or the situation. So right. One thing that I find really interesting is what anger can do to our bodies and our brain. When I learned this, it really helped me understand, and especially with children being a little bit more empathetic and patient because what is actually happening with our body is it's being flooded with a ton of hormones for what we were originally made for when we were, let's say, back in the caveman days. You know, the think about a caveman and what was his responsibilities. He woke up, he went hunting for food. He came back, kept his family safe. You know, things like that. There are the dangers out. There were safety. And that's really what's happening when we get angry is our body goes into that fight flight or freeze mode, just like with a caveman. And so, understanding that was huge for me. But then the other part is with those hormones flooding our bodies. There's parts of our bodies, our brain especially that aren't going to function as well as they could because of the fact that our body is trying to take care of the essentials. So, our heart, our lungs, all of those kind of things. So that's where all of your blood is going. That's what's being taken care of in your body is getting ready to fight or run away or freeze. So, with our prefrontal cortex, which is where we make our decisions that are logical thinking that part of the brain really isn't working at its best. And this is the part that helps me so much, of understanding when we're angry that front part of our brain, our brain that is supposed to give us logical thinking and problem solving and all of that is not really working. It's really our primitive. I call it the reptilian brain that is what's working really, really hard to keep us safe.


Sara: So as far as what anger does inside of our bodies, how does it relate to what stress does to our bodies? Because there's a lot of health concerns that come when we're under a lot of stress. And I feel like there's probably some relationships with anger causing those same kind of health concerns. So, do you know?


Jen: I found this infographic that we can put in the show notes that it really can affect all of those hormones that are flowing through our bodies. It goes through your cardiovascular system. So your heart rate increases, your blood pressure increases, your arterial tension increases, blood glucose levels increase and blood fatty acids levels increase.


Sara: So, it's just like the surge through your body.


Jen: And if we're doing that on a regular basis, I mean, this is going to be become our body's natural way of responding.


Sara: Yeah. So, I think that we could compare it to stress and how that really has harmful effects on our body. And the difference is most of the time when we're feeling stressed, it's a long-term situation. Whereas anger is bouts and surges throughout, you know, it's not a continuous thing, but if we have something pressing that always makes us angry, then we need to find ways to diffuse that anger or it's going to have the same effects that stress does.


Jen: Yeah, our eyesight even goes. We get migraines and headaches, blood flow, metabolism, dry mouth, bone density.


Sara: When it says our eyesight goes. My first thought was when people say, I'm so angry, I can't see straight. Have you ever felt that anger before? Like, you literally cannot focus. You're just so angry?


Jen: Hmm. And then that says, when these symptoms become chronic, blood vessels become clogged an damage, and this can lead to a stroke or heart attack.


Sara: That's insane! But I think it's really important to understand that having that knowledge makes you want to look at anger differently and respond differently with our emotions. So how can we listen to our bodies and recognize when anger is coming?


Jen: Over the years, anger has always been an interesting topic to me. Just because I think back on my life and I've had, I would call it an anger problem. And so it's something that I think I consciously or unconsciously started working on. But anger stress is not a bad thing. It's all in the way that we're handling it. It's OK to be angry and it's OK to be stressed. But really, as you and I were talking earlier, Sara, just talking about how when we teach kids about anger, what are our anger rules?


Sara: There are three rules that we teach kids to follow that it's not OK to harm yourself, it's not OK to harm others, and it's not OK to harm property.


Jen: And I think if we can keep those in mind, then we can handle the situation in the best way that we can for anger and for stress. Our body is going to tell us way before we actually get there. And I think this is the hardest thing to do and for people to understand. Because when I ask parents, “What does your body tell you when you're angry” and they'll always say, “Well, I feel frustrated or I'm feeling sad or stressed”, and I'm like, “No, those are feelings which are great. But what is your body telling you?” And so, I go through what my body tells me so that people have a better understanding. So, when I'm getting angry, I get those tight shoulders. I start breathing shallow instead of taking nice deep breaths and my chest gets tighter and I get warmer and I can start getting the headache. And so those are the things that your body's going to tell you prior to really getting angry. It's going to give you those little hints prior to and we really need to stop and learn how to listen to our body so that we can stop it before it happens. I like the little visual, because I'm a very visual person, of the old price is right game where the little hiker is going up the mountain. But he has all of that time and it's the same with us. We have that time as we're going up that mountain. But once that little Swiss man falls off the side of the mountain, you lose the game and. Really, with anger, you lose your anger. And so, you have lots of moments to change the way that you're feeling or to take care of it, I guess not necessarily change it because it's OK to be angry, but to take care of it in a healthy way.


Sara: I like that visual! At first I was like, I have no idea what you're talking about with this little hiker.


Jen: It's because you're too young.


Sara: I did watch the price is right, but I couldn't picture that game. But once you set up the mountain, I felt like, Oh, I, I do feel like I remember that now. But tying that to our emotions and recognizing that we need to find other ways to respond and not just let it fester and boil until we explode and fall off the mountain, I feel like that's a really good visual.


Jen: I love using it with kids, too. I mean, for a parent looking at their child, their child's going to give them all of these clues as well. And so, if you look at your child like they're going up that mountain, you have all of this time to help them calm down before they go over the edge. And that prefrontal cortex isn't working to the best of its ability. And so, I like to let parents know that as well as they have all of this time diffuse the situation if they're paying attention. And I know this takes a lot of time, and that's the biggest thing is parents, we're so busy. We don't have a lot of time to sit there and really just sit and watch our kids. Are they escalating and things like that? But if we can pay attention to them and get them before they fall over the edge, we're going to be able to teach them the best ways to be able to handle their anger in that moment. Because once they go over that edge, really, that prefrontal cortex isn't working to the best of its ability, and we're not going to be able to teach anything in that moment. And so, I always like to say, when your kids are in that full blown or an adult, you know, they're in that full blown, angry state. This is not the time to handle it. Let them feel those feelings. Go through it, be angry. Make sure that everyone is safe and things like that. But don't try to talk to a person, an adult or a child while they're in that full blown, angry state. It's not going to do anything but escalate the situation. I always like to put myself in their shoes of how would I like it if somebody came up to me and said, “Why are you angry? You need to calm down. You're being silly. This isn't something to get angry over”. You know, that's just going to escalate me and get me angry. And it's the same way with kids, right?


Sara: It's taking away that validation for how you're feeling by telling you that you're being silly. And that just makes you more upset because your emotions are real and it's OK to have emotions. Just like Jen was saying, it's what we do with those emotions that can create problems. So, I was also thinking that as parents, we need to help our children understand their emotions because they may not understand why they're angry. And so then to tell them that it's silly for them to be upset, those feelings are real, and they may not fully understand why it's made them upset. And so then to downplay it can have effects on their self-esteem and other emotional effects for them. So, helping define and put into words the things that they're feeling like, we often ask kids, “How are you?” And there's three responses that they give good, bad, fine, you know? But if we give them more words, more emotions to explain how they are, it's going to help us better understand what they're actually feeling and help give them more vocabulary to explain how they're feeling.


Jen: I think one way because with young kids, it's really hard because they don't have the words. I mean, I think about how we go back to my little chihuahua. And when I first got her and I took her out in the snow for the first time to go potty and there was a big puddle in the driveway that she did not want to go. And she planted all of her paws down and says, “Nope, I'm not going there”. And I'm like, It's just a puddle. But then a big light bulb went off and it's like she's never encountered a puddle before. And I'm like, Oh, she doesn't know that she's not going to fall in or how deep that is. I know that's a silly idea, but I think it's the same way with kids. They haven't had experiences, they don't have the words. They don't know what's going to come next if they haven't experienced it. And so really talking to them about it and giving them those words and when we are wrong with explaining how they're feeling like, they're like, No, that's not how I'm feeling, be OK with that and allow them to kind. Explain it better for you, so you can understand.


Sara: Yeah, we definitely don't want to force emotions onto them and say, “No, you are feeling this way”. If they say they're not, then that's fine. They get to choose the words that describe how they're feeling because honestly, as an adult, there are times when my whole life. There are many times that I feel misunderstood and somebody might explain what I'm feeling. And I'm like, No, that is not how I feel, and I can't find the right words to explain it, but they feel certain that they have interpreted the situation correctly. And that's what I'm feeling. And that can be really overwhelming. Even as an adult to feel like somebody is putting words into your mouth that doesn't fully explain what you're feeling.


Jen: Yeah, but you said it perfectly of “I don't even know how I'm feeling”. Well, if you as an adult can't figure out how you're feeling, how can we expect children to figure it out when they haven't had experiences, they're still developing? I mean, your brain is still developing all the time, but major developments happen up until you're twenty-five years old, right? And so how can we expect kids to figure it out when we can't figure it out, right?


Sara: And even then, your brain is still developing up until age twenty-five. But I'm beyond age twenty-five, and there are times that I feel like I still don't know how to explain this. I can't find the right words.


Jen: Absolutely!

Sara: It's a learning process your whole life.


Jen: And I think also we need to remember that it's not always something that happened in the moment. It can be something that triggered you earlier in the day that is now manifesting itself later, like you were able to deal with it in that moment. But you've bottled it up or whatever may have happened. And now all of these other things happened and now you explode. But it's kind of like that iceberg analogy. I don't know if we've used it on the podcast before, but I love it. The top of the iceberg is that's the behavior you're seeing. Underneath the water is all of the reasons why you're feeling lonely, you're feeling frustrated, you're hungry, you're tired, whatever. And if we can look underneath the water, look underneath the problems with our kids and find out what the true thing or the true problem is. That's what we need to focus on, because that's what's going to say OK, when we're feeling frustrated, it's OK to feel frustrated, but this is what we can do instead. If you're feeling lonely, let's figure out why you are feeling lonely. And so, looking underneath, finding the big reason, the real reason why we're feeling angry, it's super important.


Sara: So, I think also in understanding that iceberg analogy, we also need to be aware of what triggers us to cause those responses in us and what's going on below the surface. And so, if we know that nap time is something that our kids cannot skip because they are little monsters when they are tired, then obviously we don't want to go to the grocery store during that time because that's going to cause a lot of anger and frustration. So that's something we would want to avoid. So, we all have triggers things that we know are going to make us angry. And so, we need to work on avoiding those things I know for myself right now. Social media is not the place for me to be because it causes a lot of frustration and anger in me. Just scroll and read post after post and comment after comment that I may not agree with. And so, for me, staying off of social media helps me not be angry.


Jen: You know, I think with understanding what our triggers are and what our bodies telling us and all of these things are so important to recognize those things. But I think even more important is to recognize positive ways of how we can handle that anger because it's going to come up. We can't avoid not feeling angry. We're not going to be able to catch it before our little man falls off the mountain. It's going to happen and we're going to get angry. But what are some positive ways that we can handle that anger? And for me, the first one is don't try to deal with anything while we are angry because again, you don't want to escalate it.


Sara: I think it's important to not deal with it in the moment, like you were saying, because we're not in our thinking brain when we're angry and we're going to say things we're going to regret and wish we could take back or feel dumb that it escalated to the point that it did.


Jen: Yes. Really taking a step back and the big thing that works all the time is counting, taking deep breaths.


Sara: There are lots of activities that you can do with children to help them bring their energy to a more comfortable place so that they are in a position to respond to a situation. We may have talked about some of them in that energy episode that we did with Brandy. But you can apply that to a situation where there's anger, and so there's one where you can have kids cupped their hands together and pretend they're holding a bowl of soup. And it's a deep breathing exercise, but it makes it fun for the kids to pretend that they're smelling in the amazing scent of the soup. And then also pretending that the soup is really hot. And so you have to blow on it. And so you breathe in through your nose and smell the soup and then blow out through your mouth to cool the soup off. And you do that over and over, however many times it takes to bring your energy to a more comfortable place. One thing that works for me when I'm feeling angry is to put a pin in it. Take a pause, step away. If it's something that's happened in my home that I'm feeling upset with my children, I take a mom time out because if I respond right, then in the moment it's going to be a disaster. And oftentimes when I do, I think to myself, what are these words that are coming out of my mouth? This is not OK, but I'm so upset that I can't even stop myself and control the things that I'm saying. And so just walking away and having a moment to think about it and try to understand the other side and maybe the intentions behind the other person and what they did helps me have a better, more productive response.


Jen: I love how you say that of putting a pin in it and just taking a step back. When I was really working on my anger, that was one of my things. I'm going to walk away. I'll tell you, I'm walking away and then I'm going to go in the other room and calm down. And the important part is, as you were saying, is coming back and talking about it because you don't want to just walk away and then leave it and not handle the situation. But that was one of my steps of, “Hey, I'm going to tell you, I'm going to walk away, I'm going to go to the other room, I'll come back and I'll talk to you when I've calmed down”. So, walking away is can be a very powerful thing, but making sure that you're always coming back to talk about it. I used to work with kids that had disabilities, and there was this one little boy that had a hard time calming down. And one day it dawned on me that his heart is racing, but he can't connect the two. And so, I said, “Feel your heart with your hand” and he's like, “It's pounding really, really hard”. And I said, “Yeah, it is. And so we before we talk about it or before we try to do anything else, we need to try to get that heart to slow down. So how can we get that heart to slow down?” And he would say, “Squeeze my hands”. And so I would rub his hands, and I would say, “OK, is it time to feel our heart again?” And he would feel his heart. He's like, “it's getting slower”. And I said, “OK, so let's work a little bit longer and get that even slower”. I share these stories, and I don't want to ever make it sound like I know everything and I know what to do. These are like light bulb moments that happen throughout. And am I good at it all the time? No. But hopefully these help you be great in those moments as well.


Sara: Well, and I think it's important to hear a bunch of different ideas so that you can find what works for you. It's just adding tools to your toolbox. And so maybe the story that Jen just shared with that child and rubbing his hands, that's not going to work for your child, but it's an idea and something you can try to find. What does work? It actually made me think of my sister. She does something that I think is so adorable, and I always, any time I see her do it, think I want to start doing that, but I forget and I don't. But she often will pull her children in and hug them, like bear hug them and tell them that her heart needs to speak to their heart. And so, they need to hug, and their hearts need to be close so that they can talk to each other. And if her child starts to pull away things that it's been enough time to hug, she'll say, “Oh no, my heart's not done talking to your heart” and hold them, you know? And I just love that because we know that those physical touches and those meaningful touches are important. And just thinking about this conversation about anger when your child is angry and you pull them in and tell them that your heart needs to speak to their heart to better understand what's happening to them and why they feel that way, I think that could be something positive to try with your child. I have with my own kids, not necessarily with anger, but with those big reactions that they might have where I can tell that they just feel out of control. It's so hard, but I have pulled them in and hugged them, and with my oldest, she's really emotional. And when I do that, she just instantly breaks into tears and says, I mean, it's different every time, but she'll say along the lines of “I'm having a really hard day” and just holding her helps her feel validated and like it's a safe space to express how she's feeling and to come to a place of a more productive way to express our feelings.


Jen: There's a great clip in Inside Out where I believe his name is “Bing Bong”, The elephant, has lost his, I think it's his plane. I have to be honest right now I haven't seen the whole movie, but I love this clip to where he's sitting on the side at the dump and then taken. I believe his airplane away. And joy is there doing all of these funny things, trying to make him happy again. But really, what did it for him was when sadness sat next to him and said, “That's got to be hard. I'm sorry”. It was just sitting there validating his feelings and then he was OK to go. Someone recognized that and validated that for him. And I think in the world today, that can go a long way of, yes, you may not like what's going on in the world and it's got to be hard. And I'm sorry that you're experiencing these things, but I'm here to listen. And I'm here to help in any way that you would like me to help.


Sara: I love that. That actually reminds me of Brené Brown. And it's not anger that she's talking about, but just being careful not to put a silver lining on somebody else's feelings and telling them, at least this didn't happen. Or at least you have that, because that's not validating what they're feeling.


Jen: I'm laughing because I'm an “At least person”.


Sara: I think we all are to a degree.


Jen: I feel like those at least comes out and I'm like, Oh, wait, wait, wait, wait. I “at least” it!


Sara: Yeah, it is hard because we are so conditioned to try at least lately to try to focus on the positive. And so when somebody is feeling that anger and frustration, we're rying to find the positives in the situation and it essentially is putting in, at least on it.


Jen: Mm hmm. And it can even be more frustrating when someone's trying to find all of this. Just let me be angry for a minute. Right? And have that. Let me be frustrated. Let me be sad. Stop trying to make me happy. It's OK that I'm feeling this way. I just need to let it out. And so, in other ways that we can let it out is we can go for a walk. We can go and scream in a pillow or scream outside. Have a good cry. All of those things are going to release that energy that's within us to help us calm down.


Sara: Yeah. So, you had mentioned earlier with your own understanding, your own anger that you had steps that you knew that you would take when anger arises. And one of those steps was to say to the person that you're going to walk away that you need to put a pin in it. And so, I think that's important for all of us to come up with an action plan and think about things that we can do to help us cal down, think about what those triggers are and steer clear of those. And so, we've linked in the show notes a worksheet that you can work through to fill it out for yourself and with your children to help them understand it's OK to be angry. It's what we do with that anger that can be the problem. And so, we need to be prepared for when we're angry to know how to respond.


Jen: Absolutely. And it's a great way to have a visual in front of you. And if you forget what your kids’ things are, you have something to go to and say, Oh, this child likes this when they're angry. And so, coming up with those steps is a great thing.


Sara: Right?


Jen: I feel like we can end the episode, Sarah, without saying what's going on in our country and how we can help our kids with this. There's a lot of anger that's going on, and we may be watching the news a lot to keep informed whatever the case may be, and we need to really pay attention to our kids and make sure that we're not overwhelming them. They don't understand all of what's going on right now, and it can be very scary for them. So take those teaching moments and talk to them, let them share their feelings of being scared and may think that something is going to happen within their own homes or things like that. Let them share those feelings, reassure them that you're going to keep them safe, that your home is safe, that you love them. Children learn through repetition. It's the same way when they're dealing with their emotions as well. This is a learning process, so they may need to talk to you a lot about it. And it may be the same story over and over again about being scared about what's going on. And we, as parents should just sit back and listen and validate their feelings. Let them know that. They are safe in that you're going to do everything to keep them safe and turn off the TV. Turn off the social media. You know, there's lots of ways that you as a parent can keep informed to where your children don't have to listen to it. These are adult problems, and children shouldn't have to deal with adult problems, right?


Sara: Think about listening to the news all day as a child, and the news repeats itself over and over again. You hear the same story, but then inserted somewhere in between. There might be a breaking new update, and all of those things that are happening can be so overwhelming to a child to hear them on repeat and then hear new information thrown in there and they don't understand what's going on. It's beyond their scope. And so, we need to find other ways to listen to it, put headphones in, listen to it on our phone, read articles, rather than having it play throughout the whole house. For our children to hear that because we just don't know which pieces they're taking from it and internalizing and feeling scared or unsure about the world that we live in. We also need to be aware of the conversations were happening because I often have conversations on Marco Polo, so I'm essentially just talking to my phone not really thinking about who else is overhearing the things that I'm saying, because I know I'm talking to another adult and that can be more than my children can understand and process. Just over hearing how mom feels about the situation.


Jen: I remember when I was dating my husband and my stepdaughter was she had just turned nine and she was still really scared about 9-11, and that was a long time prior. But she would get scared that a bomb was going to come and drop on her or the school that she was in or things like that. And just, you know, in our adult brains were thinking, that is so unlikely. But to her, it was real. And so really making sure that we were talking, allowing them to feel that, letting them know that it's OK, that we're going to keep them safe was we can keep them and that we love them and that it's OK if we turn them away during this time, they're not going to come to us and then they're bottling that all up. And then that can come out and really unsafe ways because they don't know how to deal with it.


Sara: Absolutely. One other thing about being aware of what we're saying to our children is that we also need to be talking at their level of understanding because I was just remembering there was a time when I was a child that I was at my grandma's house and my aunt and grandma were going to a funeral. And I remember asking my mom what a funeral was because I was unfamiliar with that word. And she told me, it's where you go because somebody died. And I was horrified thinking that my aunt and grandma were going to a place where somebody dies. I changed that meaning in my head to be that when you go, somebody is going to die. And so, it's open shooting, I don't know, but I thought, why would they want to go and have this possibility of dying? Because I didn't understand it in my very small child like innocence brain. So just being aware that how we explain things to our children, they still could take to mean differently and really trying to speak on their level and their very limited experience of life.


Jen: Agreed. I think, yeah, I'm making sure we're on their level, making sure we're allowing them to talk about it as many times as they need to talk about it so they can process it. Those are super important. I think this is a super important podcast because of the topic and what we're going through right now. And I think this is important for us to listen to ponder on these things and really take it in. How am I going to handle these things because you are your child's teacher and you can be a teacher to adults as well? And you know, I'm going to handle this in a grown-up way. I'm going to take the high road and I'm going to allow people to have their feelings. I'm going to validate them if I believe them or not. And I'm going to be an example, and I hope that we all can be examples to our children and to others that are in our lives of how we can disagree. And that's OK. We all have different opinions and that's OK, and we can handle it in positive ways. I would like to thank you for listening to the podcast today. I hope that all of you are staying safe and. And again, I want to encourage you to sit down with your kids and do one yourself of just making a list of things that can help you calm down. And again, remember we have that link for that calm down plan in the show notes. If you would like to reach out to Sarah or myself, you can reach us at parents@theFamilyPlaceUtah.org or on our Facebook pages. Sara Hendricks - the Family Place or Jen Daily - the Family Place. We hope you have a great day and we will see you back here next week.


Sara: Thanks again for listening. The Family Place, is a non-profit organization in Logan, Utah, with a mission to strengthen families and protect children. We call ourselves starfish throwers. If you're unsure what that means, refer back to our introduction episode where we explain it. The good news is you can be a starfish thrower too by subscribing to the Parents Place podcast and liking our social media pages. If this episode resonated with you, please share it with others and help us get our message out to more people. Also, be sure to check the show notes for links to information referenced in this episode. That's all for now, but we'll catch you again next time on the Parents Place.


Subject Resources: -Anger management activity: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/556335360201988675/ -How anger affects the brain and body source: https://www.nicabm.com/how-anger-affects-the-brain-and-body-infographic/ -Brene Brown quote: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1Evwgu369Jw


Contact us:

-Email us: parents@thefamilyplaceutah.org

-Record questions here: https://anchor.fm/theparentsplace

-Parent's Place FB Page: https://www.facebook.com/groups/196037267839869/

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page